Pork Loin and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I tried this out of curiosity but I was not impressed enough to try again. I do my cabbage and pork chops a little different. All I use is boneless chops, cabbage, a little water & Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning. I just cut the cabbage into 1 inch strips. I put about a half inch of water in large skillet and turn on the heat to bring water to boil. I add the cabbage and cover and steam in the water for about 5 minutes. I dust the pork chops with Tony's, not much just a bit for flavor. I then place the seasoned chops on top of the cooking cabbage. In about 10 minutes you will have tender chops and good cabbage. I find the Tony's seasons the pork and the cabbage. If you like salt you will have to add some but not till the cooking process is done. The salt will toughen both the chop & the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Don't know if it was the ingredients, the cook, or the recipe but chops were tough and cabbage not cooked after 30 min. I like the idea of the recipe though and the combination of ingredients. May try again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I change the recipe some. I used soul seasoning and a beef cube, we don't like worcester sauce, we also change the oil to water to lower the fat. We are both diabetic and have to watch what we eat. We put in in the microwave on height for 30 minutes. My family loved it! It's become a fast dinner at our house that everyone asks for. Make sure if you do it this way you use thin boneless pork loin or it won't get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
We love this recipe! The flavor of the cabbage compliments the pork very well. In fact, we had a hard time deciding if the meat or the cabbage tasted better. Together, they are awesome. It may seem that a full head of cabbage takes a long time to reduce, but with patience it will; just stay with it. This is a simple, somewhat healthy, tasty recipe. What more could a cook want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was wonderful! There were no leftovers, and the kids kept coming back for more. I used thin sliced pork loin chops, and I did add an onion. Moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tried the suggestion of adding sliced apples. My wife didn't care for that so I'd skip that next time. I seasoned the pork with lemon pepper and also added onions in with the cabbage. Overall the recipe works and the pork came out moist and well seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
love it.....added red onions, some celery and a can of stewed tomato....yummmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Great quick comfort food meal. I had a piece of pork sirloin that I needed to use (cheaper, tougher cut), and I cut 1/2 inch slices across the grain instead of using chops. I also added some chopped onion, as suggested by other reviewers. It worked well, and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was excellent. I made it exactly as written. The pork was tender and flavourful and the cabbage was yummy. So quick and easy. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great recipe. The meat is tender and moist, and the cabbage crispy and delicious. I will leave out the worchestershire sauce next time, though, and instead flavor with caraway seeds, sliced onion and apple. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States