Pork Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I made the mistake of using regular soy sauce because it's what we had in the house. Don't do what I did - it was wayyyyy too salty for our tastes. Use the reduced sodium like the recipe suggests. When you break this down, it's a simple recipe and I really liked it... stir fry some veggies, add the sauce, add the cooked noodles. Might even make it meatless next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very good!! I love foolproof recipes, and as long as you get the sauce right, it's hard to go wrong with this recipe. Hubby and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made this with red and green bell peppers, onion, peas, and kohlrabi (which adds a nice crunch, rather like water chestnuts), and leftover roast pork. I doubled the sauce, as I had a lot of veggies, and served it over boiled Japanese udon noodles. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
If anyone in the US knows great Chinese food, it's New Yorkers, of which I proudly count myself. And this native New Yorker can tell you, this is hands-down the best lo mein I ever put in my mouth! The only changes I made are very minor. No red bell pepper because I'm allergic, and used pork, chicken, and shrimp in place of only pork (making this my own version of "house lo mein".) The flavor lingers pleasantly on the palate, and the sauce enrobes the linguine gently with no trace of gloopiness. Just the right hint of sweetness, not overpowering as so many are. It really doesn't matter what protein you use. The sauce is a symphony of taste, which elevates anything you choose to feature. In my case, said choice was dictated by what was in my fridge. For the pork, I diced up 2 small boneless chops. Loved the liberal use of mushrooms. Bamboo shoots and/or water chestnuts could be successfully added, as well. This recipe needs no tinkering, however, to ensure a virtuosic blend of flavors. Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was okay - I think it would have been better had a made it ahead of time and allowed the pasta to soak up the sauce. As it was, the noodles themselves had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Made this as written. After my kids tasted it, I then realized it was not enough for the three of us. It is so good! The next time I make it, I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Was pretty tasty. I may add more garlic and ginger next time, and perhaps a touch of hot sauce or chili flakes. I liked that it wasn't overly sweet. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was sooo good, instead of the rice vinegar I used sherry and omitted the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I make a lot of Asian dishes, but I have to say this was by far my favorite...I doubled the sauce for a pound of lo mein noodles and added in a couple of dashes of Oyster sauce. I had a lot of leftover pork tenderloin after News Years, and this was a great way to use up the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Sauce was incredibly good! Kudos. I did double it in case the pasta soaked some up, and I was kinda glad I did. I did reverse the cooking order. Stir fried the pork and some of the onion first, then set aside, then stir fried the veggies. Combined all in the dutch oven used to cook the linguine to save a mess. Finally, sugar snap peas were so expensive in the store, I went with 16 oz frozen Asian veggies, and fresh mushrooms and a red bell pepper. This is a definite keeper. I cannot wait till more find it! It is so worthy of many, many likes. Thanks Kendra Harry in Escondido CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States