Pork in Olive Oil Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Turned out really good. Pork was still juicy and tender...I really loved the mediterranean touch of that meal and those wonderful spices!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
The flavor of the pork was wonderful. I served it over white rice and had steamed brocolli as the side dish. I used dried parsley instead of cilantro (since I hate cilantro... I know I'm crazy). I also used Vermouth instead or Port Wine. The steamed white rice didn't go very well with this dish as the marinade / sauce was very strong. Next time I will add the marinade / sauce to the pork while it is cooking and simmer it down. This should thicken the marinade / sauce considerably and give the pork even more flavor. I will also serve the pork inside of pita bread with tzatziki sauce. As the brocolli didn't fit well either, next time I will use red potatoes as the side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This is very similar to Thai Pork (on this site). I did like this recipe, although I did change a thing or two. I cut the pork in thin pieces instead of bite-sized. I also forgot to add the cayenne (didn't matter much) and it tasted really great. I love the red wine vinegar flavor. It is just the right amount. I did add some mushrooms and a bit of green onion to color it up a bit. I will definately be making this one again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I give it a four because although the sauce is a very nice blend of flavor, I had to make some changes to intensify the taste of it in the pork. First, I cooked the pork with the garlic and cilantro until it's half done. Then, after taking the pork out of the skillet, I poured in the sauce, and reduced it until thick. I then tossed the pork in the sauce and cooked it through. We ate the pork wrapped in lettuce leaves and the texture complimented each other well. It's a five after the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
So simple and delicious! Didn't change a thing except I poured out the little remaining oil in the pan and added just a little of the oil, red vinegar and port to the hot pan to deglaze it and poured it over the pork - couldn't let the taste of the browning go to waste! Then added the remainder of the whisked ingrediants to the pork. The minced garlic over the meat is a must. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so used a tsp. of dried, crushed it in the palm of my hand and sprinkled it on. We had it today, a hot 90 degree day. I served it with Adrienne's Cucumber Salad (on site) using the first batch of fresh cucumbers from the back yard and sliced tomatoes. The rest of the Port wine was declicious over ice at the end of the meal with sliced apples, pears and cheese. Felt like I was on the Riviera - again a very simple, elegant meal - Oh yes, definitely have the french bread to sop up the juice!!! Thanks Marlies - looking forward to serving this to company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Best served with rice and french bread. Added green onions per previous review. The sauce is good on the french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Very good. I used stir fry pork instead. As well I used burgundy cooking wine instead of vinegar and port. I left the browned pork in the pan and sprinkled with cilantro and garlic and then sauteed the liquid until half of it was dissolved. Awesome over a bed of rice with some drippings from the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLOBABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was extremely easy and quick to prepare, and the end result was soooo tasty! My boyfriend even said to make it again soon! After browning the pork, I added a bit more sherry(didn't have port wine) to the skillet to deglaze it and then added that in with the olive oil/vinegar that I tossed with the pork pieces. Didn't have fresh cilantro, so used dried, and still tasted wonderful! So quick and easy, thanks Marlies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This turned out pretty good. After sautating the pork in EVOO, we then scraped the bits of pork up and glazed with about 1/3 cup of white wine, added some onion and garlic and cooked for about another three to five minutes. Added remaining ingredients. Yummy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Very tasty. My husband said he'd be happy to have pork prepared this way every time we have it. If you like spicier food, add another pinch or so of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States