Pork Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Delicous, healthy, and easy to make. What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Yum delicious! This recipe inspired me to write my first review. I did just as directed but added some diced squash to the ham/veggie mix and substituted the Sriracha with some red pepper flakes for spice. Even my quinoa-skeptical boyfriend said it was "surprisingly flavorful." Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Added more veggies (red cabbage, peas, white onion, grated carrots) so doubled the sauce. Doubled the garlic and used about 2/3 of the cooked quinoa. Did the poached egg on top. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The rice vinegar and soy sauce just make it perfect. I used ground pork in place of ham so I could combine this with my pork empanadas. I left out the vegetable oil since there's plenty of fat in the pork, then sauteed the pork into very fine pieces for about 10 minutes first. Then add an entire bunch of diced green onions and one medium red pepper and 6 cloves of garlic. After it's done I put half of it aside for the empanadas and add the quinoa to the other half in the pan. This gives a little more meat in the quinoa which is never bad. Next time I'll brown the garlic for just a minute to get more flavor from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is by far the best fried recipe I have found! I tweaked it a little because I didn't have fresh onion. I added garlic salt and about a tablespoon of dried chopped onions to the quinoa while it was cooking. I fried the ham, garlic, and bell pepper in a pan. Then added fresh steamed asparagus at the end. This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Awesome recipe! First time DH tried quinoa and he said it was better than rice. Used green and red bell pepper in the dish. I didn't see were the rice vinegar was used in the directions so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was delicious, light, and an easy recipe to follow. I omitted the spicy sauce because I'm not a spicy eater and the sesame seeds because I didn't have any. I added bean sprouts and I'm so glad I did - they add such a nice crunch. Next time I'll try adding peas - they'll add a lot more color to the dish and hopefully will pair well in taste. If you watch the video, the chef touches on why he doesn't use scrambled egg - I followed his recommendation and didn't miss the egg nor felt it was needed. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have made loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I like the quinoa idea but what's healthy about salty, nitrite and fat loaded ham? how about a leaner protein like egg whites, turkey breast, or pork loin? And to the reviewer that said it was bland.... ADD MORE SOY SAUCE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Yum!!! I'm trying new Quinoa recipes and this was my first one. FABULOUS! I didn't use the ham... but I could see how that would be yummy too! I could see chicken or SHRIMP in this and it would be even better! The chili-sauce and the rice vinegar is what makes it scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States