Pork for Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I have never embarked on the task of making "authentic" Mexican tamales. Although I am Puerto Rican, I want to try my hand at making these to expand my culinary skills and experiences. Based on other comments here, I will give this, untried-as-of-yet recipe a 4-star rating. The comments seem quite reasonable and since I've known my way about a kitchen, seem perfectly valid and justifiable at a 4-star rating at this time. I hope to someday soon, add my photos of my first tamale attempt. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is pretty much how we usually make our pork for tamales but then the pork is mixed with chili sauce, green chiles and cheese so the pork itself doesn't need to be highly seasoned. I question the amount of pork for 16 servings. Is this supposed to be 16 tamales? You might be able to get 16 tamales out of this 1 pound of meat but I doubt it. I usually do 10 lbs at a time. When we are making tamales we don't just make a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was ok on it's own, but true Mexican tamale meat has a few more ingredients in it. I used this basic recipe but added 3cl. garlic, cumin, oregano, chile colorado, and I used chicken broth instead of water. It was pretty good, but next time I'll throw in a chipotle chile with mole for a little smokey flavor. This is a great basic recipe to build upon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very nice, very simple. Just ate it in wraps with mesclun and tomatoes. I cut up the onion, not even realizing the recipe didn't call for chopped onion. Will leave the onion in one piece next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
What a great recipe! This is easy to make and good in corn or flour tortillas with a little hot sauce. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellereno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe is as close as you can get to authentic...without flying to San Antonio. The recipe works very well with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This tastes really good. I preferred the pork to beef in tamales when I made both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I cooked this for use with tamales, but my children were so enticed by the smell, they kept eating it and wouldn't leave it alone! They just LOVED it, plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States