Pork for Tamales Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is pretty much how we usually make our pork for tamales but then the pork is mixed with chili sauce, green chiles and cheese so the pork itself doesn't need to be highly seasoned. I question the amount of pork for 16 servings. Is this supposed to be 16 tamales? You might be able to get 16 tamales out of this 1 pound of meat but I doubt it. I usually do 10 lbs at a time. When we are making tamales we don't just make a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was ok on it's own, but true Mexican tamale meat has a few more ingredients in it. I used this basic recipe but added 3cl. garlic, cumin, oregano, chile colorado, and I used chicken broth instead of water. It was pretty good, but next time I'll throw in a chipotle chile with mole for a little smokey flavor. This is a great basic recipe to build upon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very nice, very simple. Just ate it in wraps with mesclun and tomatoes. I cut up the onion, not even realizing the recipe didn't call for chopped onion. Will leave the onion in one piece next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
What a great recipe! This is easy to make and good in corn or flour tortillas with a little hot sauce. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellereno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe is as close as you can get to authentic...without flying to San Antonio. The recipe works very well with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This tastes really good. I preferred the pork to beef in tamales when I made both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I cooked this for use with tamales, but my children were so enticed by the smell, they kept eating it and wouldn't leave it alone! They just LOVED it, plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States