Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
A little dry but my kids attacked the meat before I could put in to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The filling was good but I was never successful in making the dough. I did it twice but it was crumbly so I ended up putting the filling on a pizza dough, thanks to a quick recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I had a pork roast that was intended for tamales, but changed my mind when I came across this recipe and it is an easy alternative to the tamale. Not a burrito, not a tamale. My spouse and I will put this one in our favorites for Mexican food night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great empanadas shell recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The flavor is very dependent upon the salsa you choose. The filling was a little dry. I will be making this again. but I think I will try a chili verde sauce mixed with sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
The filling was great! I had a little trouble with the dough... probably my fault. I made 8 small ones and the used the other half of the dough aand made one large one ( like a calzone ) turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Here's the problem - the timing is ALL wrong. The pork has to simmer for 1 1/2 hours, bake for 1 hour, and bake in the filling for 20 minutes. Yet the recipe claims they will be READY in 1 1/2 hours. VERY misleading, esp. when planning for a party. You're looking at 3 hours +.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I had left over pulled pork that wanted to do something with. So, I tried these pork empanadas. Took my pulled pork (slow cooked pork butt) and added seasonings and cooked a little while longer. The dough was easy to make, but VERY bland. Felt like it was a waste of my good pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe and actually really easy! I cooked my pork in the crock pot overnight and it still came out tasting really good. I also used cheese, corn, and green chiles without the pork to make a second batch. I agree with the other post regarding the dryness of the dough. I quick fry my empanadas instead of baking them, and they turn out moist and delicious ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OneHotKitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The filling was really good. Only i cooked it in a slow cooker and added some hot peppers to it. The filling was a little dry. But i think that it will be fine with a little more butter or less flour. Overall. Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneHotKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States