Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
A little dry but my kids attacked the meat before I could put in to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The filling was good but I was never successful in making the dough. I did it twice but it was crumbly so I ended up putting the filling on a pizza dough, thanks to a quick recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I had a pork roast that was intended for tamales, but changed my mind when I came across this recipe and it is an easy alternative to the tamale. Not a burrito, not a tamale. My spouse and I will put this one in our favorites for Mexican food night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great empanadas shell recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The flavor is very dependent upon the salsa you choose. The filling was a little dry. I will be making this again. but I think I will try a chili verde sauce mixed with sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
The filling was great! I had a little trouble with the dough... probably my fault. I made 8 small ones and the used the other half of the dough aand made one large one ( like a calzone ) turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Here's the problem - the timing is ALL wrong. The pork has to simmer for 1 1/2 hours, bake for 1 hour, and bake in the filling for 20 minutes. Yet the recipe claims they will be READY in 1 1/2 hours. VERY misleading, esp. when planning for a party. You're looking at 3 hours +.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I had left over pulled pork that wanted to do something with. So, I tried these pork empanadas. Took my pulled pork (slow cooked pork butt) and added seasonings and cooked a little while longer. The dough was easy to make, but VERY bland. Felt like it was a waste of my good pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe and actually really easy! I cooked my pork in the crock pot overnight and it still came out tasting really good. I also used cheese, corn, and green chiles without the pork to make a second batch. I agree with the other post regarding the dryness of the dough. I quick fry my empanadas instead of baking them, and they turn out moist and delicious ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OneHotKitchen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The filling was really good. Only i cooked it in a slow cooker and added some hot peppers to it. The filling was a little dry. But i think that it will be fine with a little more butter or less flour. Overall. Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneHotKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States