Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
To freeze them....this is what i do. take a cookie sheet or whatever that covers a large surface and is flat (but make sure it fits in your refrigerator)and put the fresh dunpings on the sheet, making sure that the dumpings do not touch. then freeze them until they are rock hard. now just remove them and throw them into a bag to put in a freezer, etc. to cook: boil water and put these frozen dumpings in. boil until soften (and make sure the filling is cooked of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
These are amazingly good! I used ground turkey because my sister was visiting and she doesn't eat pork. While still very good, ground turkey will leave a little bit of "turkey" aftertaste, so I can't wait to try them with pork! I used a bag of angel hair coleslaw mix for a cabbage short-cut and that worked very well. We boiled our dumplings in salted water for five minutes and they were fabulous--didn't need to be fried at all! (A Chinese friend of ours from Beijing introduced us to this low-fat alternative!) For a dipping sauce we used 2 T. soy sauce, 1/2 t. vinegar (rice vinegar is best but all I had was white vinegar) and a drop of sesame oil. After boiling all the dumplings we added sliced green onions to the water and served it as a light broth soup alongside the dumplings (also traditionally Chinese). Four of us easily ate all of the dumplings as the main dish. An amazing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I really enjoyed these... although I'm used to the thicker wrappers, the ones I purchased were really thin, however they still tasted great! I meant to half the recipe but messed up on one of the ingredients and had to make them all... I don't know about this making 100 dumplings...but it sure made a lot (so much that i've individually frozen 6 dumplings worth of meat and wrappers in baggies, to be defrosted for appetizers for me and my honey)... And my boyfriend absolutely loved it.. I followed the recipe with the exception of I used turkey instead of pork, and I pan fried for a couple of minutes then poured water in the pan to steam... THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Excellent!!! Have made these on two different times for parties and have been complimented over and over! The recipe makes a lot so I usually freeze about 1/2 on a cookie sheet then throw in a freezer bag - great to make later for dinner with a nice salad. I've both steamed in lettuce leaves and sauteed - the best method for me has been to brown in a wok type pan with cooking spray for about 3 minutes, flip them, then add about 1/3 cup of water to bottom of the pan and cover for about 15 minutes on low heat or until the water is evaporated - REALLY GOOD! Serve with mixture of 2tbsp rice wine vinegar, 1 tbsp dark sesame oil, 2 tbsp soy sauce, and two thinly chopped scallions from previous review - Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Excellent!!! We made these with our exchange daughter from Hong Kong and she thought they were great :) We agree! And we've lived in Hong Kong and have travelled all throughout China... this is a close bet to what you'd really eat there :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
When I made these I made the dumplings from scratch, it took forever but it was well worth it...one thing though, be sure that the dumplings have cooked all the way through...mine were not tiny like they should have been and when I cooked the dumplings I had a scare when one I bit into wasn't quite done. The recipe is quite wonderful, really garlicy and delicious. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe. I used the bagged slaw mix instead of chopping cabbage. They're even good as leftovers. I'm going to try ground chicken next time for a little variety. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Awesome. I didn't have the ginger and I substituted leeks for the cabbage. It still rocked. I precooked the leeks, garlic and pork together before putting into wrappers cuase I was worried about the leeks shrinking and changing the dumplings. I also fried then added water to cook. It all came together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
*Option for pan-fry to crisp skin starting from uncooked if you would prefer* - Get a large deep-sided nonstick pan nice and hot with a couple TBs of oil, about mid-high heat. Place dumplings flat-side down in pan, it's OK to crowd a little and be touching, but not overlap. Pan-fry until that bottom is nice & crisp and then get a lid ready - add about a 1/2 cup of water to the pan and quickly cover with lid to contain the sizzling/popping from the oil. (Yes you're adding water to hot oil) Reduce heat to mid-low and boil until all the water is gone, about 10-15 mins. Some oil will be left on bottom once water is gone, remove lid for a couple mins and continue to cook... the skins will shrink against the filling and they'll have a crisp chewy bottom. Lorna's original recipe here is top-notch and totally worthy of 5 star as it's written though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
outstanding,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States