Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
It was fabulous! Since my family doesn't eat pork, I used chicken instead. It was still wonderful. I didn't have a good steamer and fried them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
*Option for pan-fry to crisp skin starting from uncooked if you would prefer* - Get a large deep-sided nonstick pan nice and hot with a couple TBs of oil, about mid-high heat. Place dumplings flat-side down in pan, it's OK to crowd a little and be touching, but not overlap. Pan-fry until that bottom is nice & crisp and then get a lid ready - add about a 1/2 cup of water to the pan and quickly cover with lid to contain the sizzling/popping from the oil. (Yes you're adding water to hot oil) Reduce heat to mid-low and boil until all the water is gone, about 10-15 mins. Some oil will be left on bottom once water is gone, remove lid for a couple mins and continue to cook... the skins will shrink against the filling and they'll have a crisp chewy bottom. Lorna's original recipe here is top-notch and totally worthy of 5 star as it's written though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were great! I halved the recipe, and used ground turkey (it was on sale) and a bag of cabbage/carrot slaw mix, and it was delicious! I also boiled them (don't have a bamboo steamer) for 6 minutes, which worked just fine for me. I'll try steaming once I eventually acquire a bamboo steamer. Next time I will definitely try pork, but the turkey was great too! Served with that Asian Dipping Sauce that lots of people recommended and it was a nice match, but next time I'll probably try something different to dip them in. I froze the leftovers on a cookie sheet and threw them in a ziploc bag... can't wait to eat them! Thanks for demystifying the preparation of this delicious dish for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Outstanding. This was the recipe I had been searching for. I used hot pork sausage and napa cabbage for the filling and they turned out phenomenal! I cut the recipe in half and froze what I didn't eat that day. Looking forward to dumplings whenever I get the urge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were quite good... Served them with sweet chile sauce which went well together. I took the advice of another reviewer and boiled them rather than steaming them... next time I will try steaming them because my wonton wrappers just fell apart in the boiling process, perhaps it was too hard of a boil. The dumplings themselves were good enough to definately try again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yum, these were delicious and easy to make. I added cilantro and shitake mushrooms just to add more flavor. I used lean ground pork and they were moist and perfect. I steamed them in a bamboo steamer, which worked so well and made it super easy. I froze the extra dumplings and when I steamed them frozen they came out equally as perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
VERY AUTHENTIC!!! I've been eating these since I was five. My chinese baby sitter cooked these and we loved them!! The only difference was she added some rice wine vinegar to the soy sauce used for dipping! Make sure to use cooking spray on the bottom so the dumplings don't stick. I used half of this recipe and it was plenty for four adults. I also used less cabbage, more soy sauce, and less sesame oil due to my individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Wonderful! I don't eat pork, so I replace it with ground chicken. This recipe makes SO much filling. I buy extra wrappers, construct, and freeze the rest. I have also made "chinese meatballs" out of the extra filling and served as a chicken lo mein. Update:still love these things...and eat with pork now. Reduced recipe by half, still made enough to freeze. Cheated and used prepacked coleslaw mix so I didn't have to mess with chopping cabbage (such a pain!) also still used the whole egg. Used my measuring teaspoon to fill wrappers. Perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I make these only I use crushed(ground) shrimp to the mixture. Gives a little seafood taste without the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States