Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Sooooo good. My only tip is to cut this recipe in half if you're not having a huge party. I used an entire package of wonton wrappers and had so much filling left over. I'm going to go back and buy some more wrappers and make the rest to freeze, though. These were delicious and tasted like the real thing from a Japanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
loved these..I didnt have green onion so used finely minced yellow onion..thought that the sesame oil was a bit much so I used 2 tbs...2 eggs..abit more soy sauce..and used slaw cabage for convenience..family likes them more than restaurant dumpling yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
These were super tasty. They were out of won-ton skins so I used egg roll skins cut into fourths. It made them a little thicker, but definitely worked and tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I did not add any cabbage since I like the dumplings at Chinese restaurants with just meat in them. I place 9 to 12 wonton wrappers on a flexible plastic cutting board and use a stainless steel oil sprayer filled with water to mist each wonton lightly two times each. Then I place the filling on all the wontons at the same time, and then fold them over into a rectangle shape and press down the seams. I then mist each folded wonton once and give them 3 pleats each before I place them on wax paper. Every so often I mist the wontons I have already made so they do not dry out until I have the tray filled. I found my assembly line using the sprayer cut down on my time tremendously and my fingers stay much cleaner. I also use a nonstick pan and just spray the dumplings generously with cooking spray. I spray the first side before they go in the pan, and then spray the second side once they are in the pan. I then fry both sides until nicely brown and then steam 1/2 cup of water off (with the lid on) for about 10 min the way someone else's review suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Very good recipe! Very time consuming, but worth it in the end! My whole family loved them. Also when looking for the wrappers, try finding the larger ones. It took me 4 hours to wrap 100 small dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
It was fabulous! Since my family doesn't eat pork, I used chicken instead. It was still wonderful. I didn't have a good steamer and fried them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
*Option for pan-fry to crisp skin starting from uncooked if you would prefer* - Get a large deep-sided nonstick pan nice and hot with a couple TBs of oil, about mid-high heat. Place dumplings flat-side down in pan, it's OK to crowd a little and be touching, but not overlap. Pan-fry until that bottom is nice & crisp and then get a lid ready - add about a 1/2 cup of water to the pan and quickly cover with lid to contain the sizzling/popping from the oil. (Yes you're adding water to hot oil) Reduce heat to mid-low and boil until all the water is gone, about 10-15 mins. Some oil will be left on bottom once water is gone, remove lid for a couple mins and continue to cook... the skins will shrink against the filling and they'll have a crisp chewy bottom. Lorna's original recipe here is top-notch and totally worthy of 5 star as it's written though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were great! I halved the recipe, and used ground turkey (it was on sale) and a bag of cabbage/carrot slaw mix, and it was delicious! I also boiled them (don't have a bamboo steamer) for 6 minutes, which worked just fine for me. I'll try steaming once I eventually acquire a bamboo steamer. Next time I will definitely try pork, but the turkey was great too! Served with that Asian Dipping Sauce that lots of people recommended and it was a nice match, but next time I'll probably try something different to dip them in. I froze the leftovers on a cookie sheet and threw them in a ziploc bag... can't wait to eat them! Thanks for demystifying the preparation of this delicious dish for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Outstanding. This was the recipe I had been searching for. I used hot pork sausage and napa cabbage for the filling and they turned out phenomenal! I cut the recipe in half and froze what I didn't eat that day. Looking forward to dumplings whenever I get the urge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States