Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
used a 2 cups cabbage and 2 cups bok choy, added the Chines 5 spice from this site and a tsp of sugar. This makes a large batch. I steamed them all, the longer the meat mixture sat the better they tasted. So I would mix the filling and leave 2-4 hours, then make the dumplings. We can't stop eating these, sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! My husband said they tasted very authentic! I halved the recipe and it made 49 dumplings. I love the idea of pan frying them and then adding chicken broth to the pan, covering and steaming for 15 minutes, worked great. Perfectly seasoned garlicky dumplings. My husband is finishing the rest off right now and says they're oddly addictive! I also made a dipping sauce with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and green onions as others have suggested. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yum! Took a bit of practice but... definitely a winner. After a few tries/youtube videos I made the following changes. 1. dont use square.. makes too much extra dough, was gross. I took stacks of the goza wrappers cut off the corners to make rough circles, and then would make pleats on one side- more filling fit in, and better filling to dough ratio. 2. I boiled the first batch, not worth it. Spread sesame oil lightly on a pan over med heat, placed a batch of dumplings in the pan and then pour a scant cup of noiling water over them to cover them half way. cover the pan and steam the dumplings until the water is evaporated (about five or six min). Whena ll the water is gone, drip a little sesame oil in between the rows of dumplings to crisp up the edges and remove from pan after a minute or two when the bottoms are browned and crispy. PERFECT! I used spinach instead of cabbage, and doubled the ginger and used six cloves of garlic. Sauce was a few tbs of soy sauce plus rice vinegar plus a tiny bit of sesame oil. SO good. Just took a while....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These are definitely tasty! I added 2 more cloves of garlic and another egg. I thought that 15 minutes was too long to steam and found that 10 minutes was perfect. You can't layer these on top of each other to cook as they stick. We served it with white rice. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cecil, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These turned out wonderfully. I followed the recipe with the exception of using a sliced pork loin that I finely chopped vs the ground pork. I really like the idea of freezing them because it does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made these following the recipe exactly. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuzysMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought these little guys were mighty tasty! I made 44 total, I simply used up all my leftover wonton wraps from a previous night's dish. I ended up with roughly half the pork mixture leftover that I'll use another time. I mixed everything in the food processor for ease. I used a melon scooper which made it easier but still, these were incredibly time consuming! So glad I made a LOT at one time! Serving size for an appetizer should be more like 5 dumplings.. 15?! Really!? I tried pan frying these but that was a made idea. I'll follow all the other suggestions and just boil these because they stuck the pan and the undersides looked pretty messy. So I just made sure to serve these pretty-side-up :) Picture on my profile. I served this with a small dish of low-sodium soy sauce. So other than how long these took to put together (yea, we're talking like 3 hours here) and a possible technique problem, these were so scrumptious and were a perfect compliment to an Asian-themed dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made these as an appetizer for a Japanese dinner party. They were a huge hit. I halved the recipe and it was still plenty for the 10 guests; not sure where they get 6 servings from if you make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very yummy, easy and impressive to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Meta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States