Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very good recipe. I usually add a bit of red pepper to make it spicier. I am not good with cooking these fresh, so I freeze them. I cook the filling, then cool, then fill my wrappers and freeze. This way I do not have to worry about cooking thoroughly when we take them out of the freezer. The meat is cooked so we only have to heat them. They are great for snacks for the kids. We live in another country now and cannot go to Trader Joe's and get their frozen dumplings. These taste almost just like them. We just take them out and pop them in the microwave. We are a bit strange though and enjoy that really chewy wrapper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
OK. These were delicious. I was skeptical of steaming them and so baked half of them for 15 minutes at 400. We definitely liked them better steamed. They're really good! We did however learn not to steam more than one layer at a time because they all molded together. Make sure not to layer and not to let touch one another if you steam. Really liked with the sauce by another on here: 2 T soy, 1/2 t. rice vinegar, a few drops of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
First attempt at making Chinese food. My boyfriend loves loves loves dumplings at local restaurants. He was ver doubtful these would be good. He tried one...and didn't stop till the plate was gone. The mix of ginger, sesame oil, and delicious pork and cabbage was amazing. I used other suggestions and made a dipping sauce of soy sauce rice vinegar and sesame oil with chopped green onion. I didn't steam them, I pan fried them in a non stick pan with a splash of oil. It is time consuming but great hands on project for date night, crack a bottle of wine and have fun. You'll deffinately enjoy these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Burke, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I love the Pot Stickers that we get from take-out, and now I can make them at home, and they are even better! I don't have a bamboo steamer, I just steam them in a covered wok in some chicken broth, they are great as meal with some steamed vegetables or as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I think that this was a great recipe for pork dumplings. They were very successful and very tasty. You need to plan a little extra time to make dinner if you are not overly proficient at wrapping the dumplings. Be careful not to overfill the dumplings either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Really tasty! Next time I'll triple the recipe and invite some friends over to help assemble them. They freeze well so we can all share the dumplings to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I wasn't that big of a fan. Hubby loved them more than store-bought though. Lot of work when steaming, so give yourself enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are delicious! I did not have sesame oil, so i just used a little olive oil. Instead of folding them in triangles, i find it a little tricky to keem them closed, i shaped them into little squares as well as little pouches by sinching up the 4 corners. Very tasty served with a peanut satay sauce (which has sesame oil in it). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These tasted great! While easy, they were time consuming. Next time I will probably make them all the day before. I pan fried and then steamed with water in the skillet. Next time I will try boiling in salted water. Very authentic and my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
time consuming, but worth it. i steamed mine by skipping the cooking oil and putting the broth into my electric wok, covered. they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States