Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I used tofu instead of pork and they turned out really well! Dipping them in some peanut sauce makes them twice as good maybe I'll just put a little peanut sauce in the wrapper before frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
perfect i love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes- easy to make and delicious, but they do take a little time. Definitely worth it though. I followed the instructions for freezing (see JENNYINHRE's recommendation), and this works great- so you can make extra, and get several meals out of one prep session. the frozen dumplings taste as good as the fresh ones- just pull them from the freezer and steam for about 20 minutes. Even when frozen, they never last long at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Delicious.. that's all I have to say. I will be making them again, my family loved them very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Pretty decent but I prefer a little more punch in the flavor. I only had 1-1/4 lb of ground pork/chicken mixture to begin with (I grind my own meats). I didn't add all that sesame oil (I have toasted sesame oil) & used 2 t which was plenty. I don't know why anyone (reviewers) would cook meat 1st, it's NOT necessary. I use Gyoza wrappers (found in the freezer section @ groc store) not wontons. I have a small plastic press (it folds in half) that gyoza wrappers fit on perfectly for forming. Mine look almost identical to traditional 'pleats'; creates uniform pieces and that step goes a bit quicker. I also use 1 T filling per dumpling. Next time I'll increase ginger/grn onion and add some minced water chestnuts along with chili paste and salt. I didn't an egg either - what for? I would suggest cooking a Tblsp of filling to taste for possible seasoning adj b4 wrapping. Recipe is good starting point but needed a few adjustments for my own pref. I freeze em in batches and store in freezer zip bag. For cooking: I fry bottoms a bit first and I don't add as much water. I cover to steam, let evaporate and then fry again on the bottom (med/low heat)until lightly crispy. I've yet to have oil splatter issues or uncooked filling. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Good and easy! Steamed using rice cooker and rack. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I would halve the amount of sesame oil - it overwhelms even the ginger! Also, maybe cook the cabbage a bit before adding to the mix? The cabbage was unfortunately crunchy in the finished product, at least when I made them directly without freezing first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
First time ever making dumplings, these were really good, i didnt expect them to come out restaurant style! Next time i make these I would add more soy sauce, the filling was a bit bland, but I think that had to do with the cabbage I used. I looked at reviews and next time I wont be adding any cabbage, it added too much of a crunch for my liking. This recipe is very time consuming, but fun to make =) will try with chicken next time! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nskyline115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good; but make sure that you know how to crimp the edges; I like them steamed; they need to lay in a single layer or else they stick together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
easy and great I had some of the filling left over so I cooked it and added it to the fried rice recipe I love this site we have not had any of the boring food we where eating and my hubby is loving this I feel like a chef my self I love to cook and I am having a ball Thank You allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States