Pork Chops with Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out as promised. The whole house loved this and asked when we can have it again. Since I was the only one that didn't care for the onions they will be omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This recipe is not bad but missing something. I've been making something similar to this for years and it's a favorite with my family. I use nice cuts of pork loin, ( but any cut will work great), place in a casserole dish, add raw, baby carrots, quartered potato, diced celery and onion, green, red and yellow peppers, fresh mushrooms and cover with stewed tomatoes. Cover dish and bake @ 325 for about an hour. You can add your own spices to taste. Melt in your mouth dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We loved these! I used Bone in Pork Chops And Canned Sliced Mushrooms. I served it with rice. It came out tender and delicious! I will be putting this into the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I just made this dish and I followed one of the other reviews by browning the chops first, then I sauteed the onions, mushrooms and added garlic. I did continue to use the stewed tomatoes and bake the dish for about 40 minutes. The dish was so tender and tasteful.My daughter who is always on a diet went for more. The sauce over rice was really good. You must cover the dish with foil to keep the chops tender. I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My wife just cooked this tonight. It was very good. She did make it a little different than what the recipe calls for. First she put some vegtable oil in a skillet, browned the diced up onion and the pork chops on each side for about 5 minutes total. Then she put the onions and pork chops in the baking dish seasoned with salt and pepper, and she used can diced tomatos instead of stewed tomatos since that is what we had on hand, then seasoned the tomatos with garlic pepper. She covered the dish and baked in the oven for 40 minutes, then uncovered it and baked for an additional 6-10 minutes. We ate it all over rice, and it was sensational...even our picky eaters of two boy's ate it. (we have a 9 year old, and 3 year old. Our 1 year old is not to big on table foods yet, but he did eat one piece of meat) My wife will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
The recipe isn't bad, but needs some changes. It's better to brown the chops in a fry pan. Add the onion while browning. Then put it into a baking pan if you really want to bake them, but there's no need. Just add the remaining ingredients to the fry pan and cook just until the chops are done, certainly not and hour and a half. Good with mashed potatoes and salad, as well as good, garlicky bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I tried this recipe last night and it was wonderful. I did make one minor change though. I added shredded asiago/romano cheese to the top which seemed to finish it off quite nicely. I'd definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Did not like this one!! Too tough and no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is an excellent recipe IF you use a cut like pork steaks or bone-in pork chops AND lower the oven temp to between 275 and 325. These benefit from the long cook time on a low setting. However, a high quality cut like boneless pork loin chops will only get overdone and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I plan to poke tenderizer into my chops then marinate them in tomato sauce & diced onions for a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States