Pork Chops with Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I too agree this is a very good quick pork chop recipe. My kids are allergic to dairy and I have never found a replacement for old fashioned Scalloped Potatoes. I was skeptical but these are very good! The kids liked them too. The only thing I did different was to add and additonal cup of beef broth to the gravy to make more. The recipe handled it just fine and I didn't need to add extra flour at all. Also, don't cut the potatoes too thin (as I did) or they come out a little mushy. Cut maybe 1/4 inch thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This recipe turned out pretty good. But I did make some changes. I only used half an onion, thought that was plenty. I just sprinkled a pinch of thyme on each layer -also plenty...Instead of beef boullion and water, (allergic to MSG) I poured a cup of chicken broth over the top. 1/4 C. butter seemed like too much too. I dotted the layers with several dabs of Smart Balance (butter substitute). I was already to make the gravy after I took the casserole out of the oven, but after removing pork and potatoes to serving dish, the dripping were already thick enough to pour on the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
We used beef broth instead of the bullion, and added 1/8 cup white wine, 1/8 tsp each minced garlic, oregano and ground red pepper. After about 55 minutes in oven,we topped it with 1/4 cup French fried onions and 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. It was broiled till cheese was crispy to our tate, about 5 minutes. I forgot to thicken the juices as it was getting late but I'll do that on my next attempt! This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFoodLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I don't know why more people haven't tried this recipe--it's great. I can't eat cheese, so the other scalloped potato and pork recipes don't work for me, but this was is perfect. I scaled it back for two pork chops, and I used beef stock instead of the beef bouillon and water. I took two pork chops out of the freezer and thawed them, and then my husband, who had packaged them for the freezer, told me that I had taken out turkey breasts or tenderloins. But, I made the recipe anyway, and it is very good with turkey. Next time I will make it with pork. The gravy was excellent! I served it with green beans and Irresistible Soda Bread--easy and nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Great idea to mix these two dishes, and I don't know why I've never thought about it before! I used pork tenderloin, and I cut it into medallions. I also omitted the thyme, and just put dabs of butter on each layer, I don't think it was anywhere near a quarter cup. No need to thicken the juice at the end either, and this was great for lunches the next day. Delicious, tender, and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I am glad I tried this, the pork chops came out VERY tender and the gravy was good too. Next time I will cut the amount of pepper way down, there was too much. The only thing I changed was the gravy, I added salt to my taste and also added enough water to get the gravy to be the consistancy that I like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Great dish in no time! This was super easy to prep and the result was satisfying. I needed to add more seasoning (garlic, salt, pepper) because it came out kind of bland for my taste. I'm going to try this same cooking technique with other kinds of meats with the potatoes and onions. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I didn't use the flour. Used white wine instead of water, added a chopped red sweet pepper I had in the fridge and needed to use, also a couple of chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this dish. It was easy to make, had good flavor, and the port chops turned out nice and juicy! The only thing I would change next time is how the gravy is made. I would mix the flour with a little of the drippings instead of regular water to prevent clumping, and I would slowly add it to the rest of the drippings until I got the consistency I wanted as adding all of the flour mixture made the gravy too thick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband loved this. Usually any pork I make is overcooked. For this, I had a really big pork loin that I cut into 6 chops (the other half went in the freezer). I used my own homemade spice mix - not that big of a fan of thyme. Cut up the potatoes and onion in my food processor. Easy, delish and the chops were SOOO tender! I did skip the last part - I already had some store bought gravy - bad me, but so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States