Pork Chops With Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is a really delicious way to fix pork chops! My friends from Germany fix red cabbage with cranberry sauce, a little vinegar and sugar, cut-up apples and bacon. They serve it as a side dish along with red potatoes when they're serving roasted pork. Thanks so much for this yummy variation. My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I used this recipe to venture into German food for the first time. My boyfriend, who is German and was aching for me to cook something like his mom, loved this dish. I couldn't fathom not seasoning the pork before browning it, so I just used a grind of salt and pepper. After that, the only thing the cabbage needed was a shake of salt after it was on the plate. I served it alongside red skin mashed potatoes, which was a perfect side dish. I thought the recipe was okay, but then again, I'm Sicilian ... so perhaps my taste buds are just unaccustomed, since the real German in the house fully approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MilkshakeNHoney
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Pretty tasty, although I made some little tiny tweaks to the recipe and I think without them it may have been a bit too bland. I added fresh sage to the chops and it really made the flavor pop, as well as a little black cracked pepper and thickened the juices left over from the chops cooking with a simple flour/butter roux to make a gravy. The cabbage was a bit bland so in the future I think I'd stick to a sweet & sour cabbage recipe, with a bit more of a tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilkshakeNHoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. My husband is German and he absolutely loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. The cabbage ended up overcooked and mushy. It also was in desperate need of some salt. I'd much prefer my traditional sweet & sour cabbage with pork on the side prepared some other way. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Used boneless pork loin and they dried out. The cabbage with the flavors were exceptional. The pork part needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was so flavorfull. If you like a little sweetness, this is just the ticket. The pork chops were moist and delicious and in my oven only required 45 minutes to cook. I love cabbage and this red cabbage not only tasted good but made a pretty presentation. I would highly recomment this for family or guests at dinner. I served it with Garlic Basil Mashed Potatoes (recipe posted under Deana)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Duncanson Heseltine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The overall recipe is good. The cranberry sauce was a nice addition to the cabbage with the vineger.I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this dish last night for my husband and myself, it was wonderful. Definitely comfort food, I did not have caraway seeds(not my favorite) so I substituted with black sesame seeds. Loved it, and looks so nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spintop

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe was excellent. My husband and kids gobbled it up! It's very easy to make and hits the spot when you have a craving for German food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States