Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
AMAZING!! Even my super old-school mother-in-law (meat and potatoes type) LOVED this! I think it's by far the best pork I've ever eaten. I had huge, inch thick chops so I pan fried them as stated in the recipe for 5 minutes on each side then finished them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes until they reached 170 degrees. They were ridiculously moist and tender. I also doubled the spices to coat the 4 chops heavily. Also, we LOVED the raspberry sauce. I used homemade raspberry preserves with seeds in them, balsamic vinegar and 1 Tbls. orange juice concentrate with 1 Tbls. water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was good, and it was nice to have a such a unique recipe for pork chops, to give us some variety. Instructions for cooking the meat were great: the pork was seared perfectly on the outside and it was done, but not dry, on the inside. It wasn't clear whether the pan juices were to be removed before making the sauce, so I left them in, and the sauce was pretty good. I spooned it over the meat on each person's plate instead of laying the meat in a puddle of sauce on a serving plate. It needs to be spooned onto the meat (or plate) immediately, before it has a chance to gel up, which happens just minutes after taking it off the heat. All that said, my family thought the thyme flavor was overpowering, and they really don't like thyme much (though it seemed ok to me), so I may change the spice rub if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
The overall flavor of the dish was nice. I just wish the sauce hadn't been as sweet. I did reduce the amount of vinegar, and I actually used apple cider vinegar (I didn't realize I didn't have any white wine vinegar until I was making the sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe except for using only 1 tablespoon of the white wine vinegar, as others suggested. It was good... something different. When I make it again I will try using the full amount of the white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I have many jars of homemade raspberry jam in my pantry, generously gifted to me by my mother-in-law. Unfortunately, all of jars contain jam with seeds, but to get the seeds out for this recipe's sauce, I merely combined the jam (doubled quantity, per the other reviewers' recommendations) with the vinegar and juice (original indicated quantities only), microwaved for thirty seconds, then pressed through a flour sifter. Voila! Perfect consistency ready to be reduced in the wonderful pan drippings leftover from searing the pork. The seasoning directions for the pork were spot-on, and lent itself beautifully to rounding out the flavors of the sauce. Served with simple mashed potatoes, this dish is a winner! My husband suggested that the sauce should be utilized as a final glazed for our pineapple-soaked, hickory-smoked barbecued pork ribs (which I think is a brilliant idea).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Riggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made according to the instructions except I substituted the white wine vinegar for balsamic vinegar. My family (hubby and kids ages 7, 6 and 3) loved this! Which is saying a lot given that no one in our family really likes pork. I served with mashed sweet potatoes and steamed veggies. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I was never a big fan of pork chops, but this recipe changed my mind. I didn't make any changes to the ingredients for the sauce and I thought it tasted wonderful. Not to heavy on the raspberry and not too heavy on the vinegar. Be sure to use white WINE vinegar and not straight white vinegar. It makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jatnj
Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Fantastic! The flavors between the raspberry and pork with the herbs, SIMPLY fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scorpionc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I agree, this is worthy of serving company. I did substitute balsamic for the white wine vinegar. Mashed potatoes make a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by serray_j
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Just made this for dinner and WoW! I didn't have sage but it still tasted good. And I added more jam and pinch of wheat flour to thicken it up. Instead of putting the sauce on the bottom, I put it over the pork chops. Added a couple of raspberries on top the chops and presto! Yummy dinner for the family :) A great recipe for something new with the same ol pork chops!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serray_j

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States