Pork Chops with Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This recipe made very good use of a jar of hot pepper jelly I've had sitting in the pantry. (Probably sweeter than jalapeno jelly, but it worked!) I used extra virgin olive oil for even stronger flavor. I tenderized the chops first and let them marinate for about 6 hours, and they held much of the moisture during grilling. Hubby gave it a big thumbs up -- I'm not a real fan of pork chops, but I cleaned my plate as well because I enjoyed the flavor so much. Since I have half a jar of jelly left, we'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I think the pork chops would be better if you just cook them without the marinade and put the jalapeno jelly on them afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I agree. The marinade lacked flavor and was too sweet the first time I made this. On my second attempt, I substituted cilantro for the rosemary and added fresh garlic and additional lime juice, reserving some marinade to coat the chops after broiling. It was much better with these revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I had all ingredients except jalapeño jelly, but red pepper jelly. In the end it was like a sweet n' sour sauce-hubby & 4 yr old picky eater devoured it all! Also, boiled the marinade w/some broth for a sauce-was a big hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Webster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Okay- not bad but not as much flavor as we anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
not as hot a you would think... from the title
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made these yesterday for dinner and grilled them, basting with some slightly warmed jelly and the chops came out moist and juicy with a very nice brown glaze to them. The only downside was they glaze wasn't as flavorful as I had hoped for with the spice from the jelly. But I think it was more that the jelly was rather mild to start with and next time I'll search for a slightly hotter version and maybe add some fresh peppers to the mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
The pork turned out nice and tender - I've never broiled them before. However, they didn't have much flavor - I even used more jalapeno jelly than it said to. I think I agree with another reviewer - I would have been better off reserving some of the jelly and serving it as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
LOVED them!!! used my own homemade jelly, marinated overnight and then used some more to dip in. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
The point in adding a glaze or a sauce is to add flavor. This recipe didn't accomplish this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States