Pork Chops with Garden Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very Good. This came out a lot better than I had expected. I had to substitute the vegetable broth with chicken broth because I didn't have any veggie broth. Also, I did not have any orange peppers so only used green peppers. I did not have green onions and I substituted by using a yellow onion. This turned out delicious. As a time saving measure you could cut up all of the vegetables and precook the rice mixture and refrigerate over night. That way the following evening to make a quick meal all you have to do is brown the chops and throw it all in a dish into the oven it goes!! I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Instead of the vegetables listed I added a small bag of frozen chopped mixed vegetables along with the can of diced tomatoes. I still found that it lacked a tiny bit of flavor. Maybe it's because I was using lean and thin chops. Still a wonderful recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Used tomatoes with chilis---tasted more like spanish rice. Use THICK pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
The rice in this recipe was delicious! The pork chops were just okay. I took them out of the oven 15 minutes early and they were still dried out. We may try this again because we really enjoyed the rice or just make the rice and forget about the chops. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
We have made this recipe twice now, once with Pork Chops and once I substituted with chicken. It is really reat either way. Both my husband and I wanted a little more flavor to the rice so we sprinkled Red Hot onto the rice servings once on our personal dinner plates, leaving it more mild for the children. This is a great meat and rice casserol without the cans of soup which so many recipes have and which I really cannot abide. LOVE this recipe and it is a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We loved this so much. The only thing that I changed was I used tomatoes with chiles to give it a little kick. My husband said it was just enough spice. I used bone in pork chops. I also used red pepper instead of green by mistake. It still turned out delicious. My 10 month old ate a lot of the rice. Thanks for a healthy delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dixon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Very good. Used brown rice instead of white. Prepped the night before, finished cooking the next night. Tender chops, flavorful rice. Have already made this one twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very Good. I love the caserol idea. Easy clean up. I totally tweaked the recipe though and made it into a sort of spanish rice (was simply in the mood).I added some onion and cooked it with some garlic. Then cooked the rice a little. I replaced the canned tomatoes with a tomato sauce and added about 1 tsp. of Cummin. Made the dish rich and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risuma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was a very good and healthy way to prepare a one-dish pork chop meal. We really enjoy the lightness of it. Next time I will try using Rotel tomatoes instead of plain for a little zippier flavor. Also used brown rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Thank you for a recipe with rice and pork chops that DID NOT have condensed soup in the mix! We enjoyed this recipe. I would kick up the rice mixture a little more next time with more onions and fresh garlic with the rice. I would also make sure that your pork has a little bit of fat on it, so the chops don't dry out! I used brown rice and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States