Pork Chops with Fresh Tomato, Onion, Garlic, and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I LOVED THIS DISH!! So did my husband, 5 year old & 2 year old. I did modify a few things. I sauteed the onions and then browned the chops in the same pan w/ the oinions still in it. Then I braised the chops w/ onions in about a cup of chicken broth for maybe 30 minutes. I removed the chops and reduced the chicken broth by about half. Then I added the tomatoes, vinegar and spices. Topped w/ feta and the house feel silent while we devoured our dinner. I am going to try this w/ chicken next time. And then make it again, and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
My, my, my...this was sooooo good! The only thing I changed was, I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes. I would change nothing else, it was absolutely wonderful! I lie...I did change it, I also tried it with chicken thighs...every bit as good as the pork. The feta cheese really added zip. Made it for company, they took home the recipe....made it for my married children and spouses...and both daughters have made it at home, and I only found the recipe 3 weeks ago! Just one other thing...I used white balsamic the first time (to keep the colour more pleasing), was very good, however, it had just a little more spunk with the dark version. For those of you who find pork chops too dry, try pork shoulder steak...I rarely use chops and find the pork steak is always more moist and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
OMG! This was fantastic! I did use fresh basil and the only other change I made was that I browned the pork chops on both sides first and put them in the oven until they reached 140 degrees. In the meantime, I continued on with the recipe. Wow! I will make this again...and again...again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I added extra balsamic vinegar, and after cooking the chops, I put them into a casserole dish, topped them with the tomato mixture, covered it, and baked it at 300 degrees for 30 minutes (to allow my other sides to get ready). Everyone loved the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Great flavors! The tomatoes add just the right amount of 'juiciness'. Don't worry if you can't find the yellow ones...just increase the amount of red ones and it will be fine! Today's pork is quite lean and can turn out dry but I find if I cook it on a bit lower heat and cover it (after its browned nicely on both sides) that it turns out yummy. This recipe will be added to my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This recipe was delicious, but I will be making it with chicken from now on. We're not huge pork fans, but that's not the recipe's fault! I added a few capers to the mix, and I loved how the tomatoes tasted after they were cooked--warm, savory/sweet, and fabulous. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
What an excellent dish! I pan seared really thick pork chops and then baked them to maximize tenderness and flavor. Every bite was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
WOW! This is awesome! We LOVED this! This is a nice restaurant quality dish. We used 1 can of diced tomatoes, drained, instead of the grape tomatoes. We also served this up with a side of pasta that was tossed in olive oil. This was wonderful. Oh, one thing that we did was used basil and sundried tomato feta, just because I had it. It would have been awesome with plain feta. If you like spicy italian dishes you will love this! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This one is hard to screw up, I'd thought I had overcooked the pork but it was still moist & tender, you could get away with half an onion though as we had lots leftover after the fact. I really enjoyed it and especially liked the Feta. My honey didn't care for the Feta but other than that he liked it and said he would enjoy having it for dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I too seared thick pork chops and then baked them in the oven to keep them moist. A gourmet dish and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States