Pork Chops with Dill Pickle Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Really easy and really good. Didn't bother measuring the vinegar from the pickles, just poured it over the pork and left it. My husband liked it but couldn't figure out what the flavour was, despite loving dill pickles. Was surprised when I told him. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I tried this receipe after reading the reviews. I added powdered garlic, fennel seeds, smoked pepper and a healthy splash of tabasco sauce to the pickle juice. When I added the marinade to the pork chops, I also added a sprig of fresh rosemary and tarragon (because I had grown these fresh herbs and needed to use them). I pierced the chops with a fork and ended up marinading them for two days in the fridge. When I grilled them over low heat, they ended up wonderful! They were very moist and flavorful. When using this marinade, you do need to adapt it to your own personal taste. It's probably not the best choice for those on a low-sodium diet, as the pickle juice has a lot of sodium, but I will definately do this again. I'll never discard my pickle juice again either!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pammyjo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montezuma, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
So I found this recipe earlier today and decided to give it a try. It seems most of the pork chop recipes I found on this site and many others consisted of soy sauce and brown sugar. I was happy to find something different & low carb (with great reviews). I was very pleased with this recipe.. but there was no WOW factor. Dill pickle juice was a very unique marinade idea. I did add a jalapeno, garlic and red pepper flakes to the pickle juice marinade. And the porkchops did come out very tender and quite good...but it wasn't the be all end all. But I will make it again when I have used the last pickle in the house. For the newbie culinary folks this is a great recipe. I would suggest roasting a pork roast in a cooking bag with the pickle juice. Very impressive! Just add some extra herbs and a little salt. And I agree with others when they suggest not to tell your family or friends how you flavored the meat. They will be pleasantly surprised to find out the flavor came from pickle juice. But the pickle juice is only the base. There is extreme room to enhance this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These were pretty good, but a little bland. Next time, I will add some more spices and seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Karen, You did it! You are one of the few that have gotten a 5 star rating from my husband. He said these were the best I have ever made. I marinated thick cut butterfly porkchops for around 24 hours. Browned them on both sides in a skillet and then baked them at 350 until done. I did add lots of chopped garlic and dried red pepper flakes to the marinade. I, like others, thought these would have a dill pickle, vinegar taste but they didn't. Just a tiny hint that made you say HU-M-M-M what is that flavor? Good, Good, Good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
kids and guys gave it a thumbs up... i thought it was ok. interesting indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Yep, it sounds crazy but it's great, and couldn't be easier. It definitely looks gross while marinating in a ziploc, and I would not recommend telling people what it is until after they eat. But it was simple and produced a great flavor, more complex than just pickles. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
We were excited to try a new, unique recipe. It's so easy how can you not try it? Pork chops were tender and juicy. The only thing it needed was some additional spice so we added garlic pepper and it was perfect. Without it tasted too bland for our liking. I like that the dill flavor wasn't too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
OMG! THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GREAT! PLEASE DO TRY IT.... I ONLY MARINADED 2 HOURS AND IT WAS GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States