Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I've made this twice now - the first time as per the recipe and it was nice (would have been 3-4 stars). The second time I poured a half cup of white wine over the potato, onion and apple layers and sprinkled with a tsp of dried thyme - and I also added a tablespoon of caraway seeds to the sauerkraut. I then cooked it long and slow in my oven and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
The ingredients listed didn't sound to me like they would taste good all together in one dish, but this was delicious! I added a little cinnamon with the nutmeg, and sprinkled some onion powder on the pork chops after I browned them in butter, then poured a little white wine over the whole thing before cooking it. The meat was super tender and the vegetables/apples had a wonderful mellow comfort-food flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
The flavors in this recipe are fantastic! Definitely one that will be made frequently in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was incredibly delicious! It was my first attempt at pork chops, but the recipe was so simple that it came out fantastic! I added a bit more brown sugar to mine (about twice the recipe calls for, and added an extra sweet potatoe, because two didn't seem enough. I think next time I will use apples with a more tart taste. Definately on my top ten list of recipes I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe. Something different and the tastes of the sweet pototoes, onions and apples with a hint of sweet with the saurkraut is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Everyone in my family loved this recipe! One of my favorites off of this website. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
THIS RECIPE WAS ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL. MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVE IT. THE BLEND OF THE APPLES,SWEET POTATOES AND ONIONS MADE THE ROAST PORK VERY NICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackied79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wonderful, tender, quick meal. The apples added the perfect compliment to the Sauerkraut. This is almost a once a weeker. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Thank you very much for your recipe, my family and I really liked it and I will gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I don't even like saurkraut, but this was delicious!!! I have already made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States