Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Good flavors, but something went terribly awry with my chops and the texture was not good. Might try it again in the oven instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This turned out awful - the sauerkraut I used was way too sour and I used Granny Smith apples I had on hand in addition. I was really disappointed. The amount of sugar was too low in my opinion. Sweet potatoes also took a lot longer to cook and tasted bland (or my tastebuds got killed by all the sour). If I ever make it again (my husband says no), I'll use very sweet apples for the recipe, and more sugar. I also think I'll skip the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe turned out well. I cooked some sausage along with it and it added extra flavor. Bratwurst, Keilbasa, and Italian sausage would all work with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Thank you very much for your recipe, my family and I really liked it and I will gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Not a lot of flavor. Meat was tough. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
While I really enjoyed this recipe, I think I’ll tweak it a bit the next time I make it. I opted for the oven option… which might have led to the sweet potatoes not getting as soft as I’d like. All in all, a great idea. Thanks, RCKim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
instead of apples, I used apple sauce and poured it over the sauerkraut. then i sprinkled about 1/4 cup sugar over it and baked in a 9 X 14 @350 for about 1 hr. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NELANNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I found that even after 6 hours the sweet potatoes and onion had not softened (they were crunchy!) I added 1/2 cup white wine like one reviewer suggested. I had made this dinner to eat before going to the theater with my wife. Because vegetables were not done, I left it cooking while we were at the theater. Came home and ate it, and it was delicious. Pork chops very moist and tender (cut with fork). Vegetables were soft, but not mush. All in all, it cooked 10 hours. Next time I make it (and there will be a next time) 10 hours is what I'm planning on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
the saurkraut makes the apples bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamartine, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this according to the recipe, except I added a little cinnamon per previous reviewer. The pork chops were good and very tender. The sweet potatoes were OK. The apples cooked to mush. Overall it was just weird to me. I like all the ingredients but they did not work together. My husband was not a fan either. I will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States