Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a nice change from my regular potato/kraut recipe. I added an extra sweet potato and apple, added cinnamon and a little more nutmeg and put in 1/4 cup brown sugar rather than 1T. Also, if you don't like tart sauerkraut, rinse it off in a collander before putting it in the recipe. I also added 1 1/2 cups apple juice before cooking this because I wanted more moisture. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
THIS RECIPE WAS ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL. MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVE IT. THE BLEND OF THE APPLES,SWEET POTATOES AND ONIONS MADE THE ROAST PORK VERY NICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackied79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I really didnt think this would be good but we really liked it. My husband says its nice to have something different. I use a little less krout and a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The sauerkraut just took over everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a very flavorful dish, sweet and sour combined. The apples, sweet potatoes and sauerkraut joined together in taste which made it difficult to separate each without looking. But outside of that, very good. The pork was super tender and tasty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Good flavors, but something went terribly awry with my chops and the texture was not good. Might try it again in the oven instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This turned out awful - the sauerkraut I used was way too sour and I used Granny Smith apples I had on hand in addition. I was really disappointed. The amount of sugar was too low in my opinion. Sweet potatoes also took a lot longer to cook and tasted bland (or my tastebuds got killed by all the sour). If I ever make it again (my husband says no), I'll use very sweet apples for the recipe, and more sugar. I also think I'll skip the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe turned out well. I cooked some sausage along with it and it added extra flavor. Bratwurst, Keilbasa, and Italian sausage would all work with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Thank you very much for your recipe, my family and I really liked it and I will gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Not a lot of flavor. Meat was tough. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States