Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Beware of trying to put the whole recipe into a 3 qt. crock! Also, beware of trying to cook it on low for 5 hours, it won't be done. At least, that was my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was fabulous! I was a little unsure but the flavors are so great together. I will definitely make this again and pass this recipe on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
The taste was great, the apples and potatoes turned out wonderfully but the pork chops turned out really dry. I got to thinking after the matter that maybe they turned out dry because I opened the crock-pot to check the potatoes, thought maybe I let out all the moisture and that's why they ended up dry. I may attempt to make again and leave lid alone but no guarantees that hubby will want to eat it again after the first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
The sweet potatoes and apples were good but the pork turned out kind of dry. It was only in the slow cooker for 5.5 hours. I added the white wine and thyme, as was suggested in previous posts and it was a good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious. I added 1/2 cup of white wine, 2 lg cloves of garlic smashed, omitted the nutmeg which I absolutely DO NOT like, added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a sprig of fresh thyme. This dish is true comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Five stars with some of the changes suggested by other users. I added 1/2 c. white cooking wine so it wouldn't dry out. Used 4 sweet potatoes (not yams) and did not peel as their skins are lighter. Used 4 med tart apples. I mixed 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp sea salt in a separate bowl and coated the apples before tossing them in. I mixed 1/2 the amount of the saurkraut called for w/1 tsp caraway seed. It was fabulous! I'm keeping this recipe on hand all Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was different. But I like all the ingredients separately, so I gave it a try. I thought it was ok- my husband did not. He ate his pork but left everything else and made weird faces through dinner. I think he was being a bit dramatic, as I ate it and liked it ok. However, I don't think I'll be making this one again. Thanks for sharing, though- I am glad we tried it, as you just never know what will be to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I love each ingredient seperately, but all cooked together it just came out oddly flavored. The first night (5 hrs on low) the sweet potatoes were not cooked at all. The second night (5 more hours on low), after adding more kraut & juice & apple juice they were still hard as a rock. We ate the chops, tossed everything else. Sorry. I thought this would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Totally Yum! Very Easy! I didn't think my family would like the sauerkraut (Im not to found of it myself) but it was REALLY good! I wouldn't change a thing. If you follow the recipe EXACTLY, you will have a perfect dinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
i personally thought this recipe was wonderful, but my family had mixed reviews. i used three sweet potatoes, three apples and one and a half onions and it still turned out okay. i think i could've used a little less sauerkraut (i used a large can) and maybe seasoned the chops with salt and pepper. i used white wine for the extra liquid and i think next time i make this i will use half wine half water to make the taste a little more mild. other than these minor changes this recipe is good if you're looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States