Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
A real crowd pleaser! Just killer! I nuked the potatoes 4 minutes first, then baked in a foiled baking pan for an hour instead of the cooker. The sauerkraut was mellowed by the covered baking, and the chops were perfect. The potatoes disappeared into a lovely sweet-sour flavor. (We didn't peel the thin skins, and they were unnoticeable.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
What a fabulous recipe! Was wondering how the sauerkraut would be with the apples, but it was great. The sweetness of the apples minimized the tartness of the sauerkraut. Even my husband who SAYS he isn't picky (but he is) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cicero, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was so good with the sweet potatoes. I am always trying to get my boyfriend to eat more of them and this was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I loved this dish! Sadly my 7 yr old did not. I think the sauerkraut is what turned him off; but, I thought it made for a wonderful, hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I rate this recipe a 4 star (only because our preferance would be to use white potatoes instead and save the sweet potaoes for a ham dish) ... followed the recipe taking the advice of a few previous reviewers adding 1/2c white wine at the end of the preparation over the top of the kraut and cookig on HI for 4hrs. very YUM! very tender chops and very flavorful!!!! Will make this again! esp. on a cool or snow FALL or WINTER day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Wasn't bad. good flavor. Ended up being one big pot of mush. Needs more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Beware of trying to put the whole recipe into a 3 qt. crock! Also, beware of trying to cook it on low for 5 hours, it won't be done. At least, that was my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was fabulous! I was a little unsure but the flavors are so great together. I will definitely make this again and pass this recipe on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
The taste was great, the apples and potatoes turned out wonderfully but the pork chops turned out really dry. I got to thinking after the matter that maybe they turned out dry because I opened the crock-pot to check the potatoes, thought maybe I let out all the moisture and that's why they ended up dry. I may attempt to make again and leave lid alone but no guarantees that hubby will want to eat it again after the first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
The sweet potatoes and apples were good but the pork turned out kind of dry. It was only in the slow cooker for 5.5 hours. I added the white wine and thyme, as was suggested in previous posts and it was a good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States