Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I didn't love this dish. I followed the recipe, and it came out a little tangy, and strange. Not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This has become a regular meal in our house. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
added 1/2 cup wine. really good. will try with some thyme next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The perfect mix of sweet and sour. I love sauerkraut and this dish was amazing. I did not brown the pork chops because I'm lazy :) Still turned out very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for New Year's Day 2011! It was fabulous. I did a few things a little different. I didn't have time for the crock pot so I used my cast iron dutch oven. I used a little more brown sugar and added 2 cloves of garlic. Sprinkled sage on the pork chops, added caraway seeds and about another tbsp brown sugar to the sauerkraut after rinsing and squeezing it to get the sour juice out,,,and then put about 3 tbsp thinly sliced butter pats on top of the sauerkraut and then poured about 1/4 cup Reisling wine. Cooked at 250 degrees for 3 hours and it was fantastic. The pork chops were super tender, the flavors of everything else were super complimentary. I am going to make this a New Year Tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by werseabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
If you like dry pork chops and food with no flavor then this is the recipe for you. Okay...it's not really *that* bad, but I wouldn't say it's that great either. I used allspice instead of nutmeg and added some cayenne pepper as well but it didn't help much. I would definitely say seasoning the pork more before the initial browning would help a lot. In the end, it is a very easy slow cooker recipe but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was exceptionally delicious! I tend to prefer white sweet potatoes and never can find a good way to serve the orange ones -- this really made them shine. I used homemade kraut, local apples and onions, heritage pork from a nearby farmer and orange sweets from the Farmers' Market. Totally local, totally simple, totally superb. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bashert
Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Hmm. I really wanted to like this recipe, we love all the ingredients but it was bland, just too bland, and in 6 hrs the pots were not cooked and neither were the onions. I had to finish them on the stove. I DO, however, plan to make this again because my DH and son loved it, go figure! I plan to change it a lot. I plan to add chopped bacon to the pot, prob 3 slices, to saute the onions before putting them in and to use apple cider to deglaze the pan (I did that this time too). Also, much more salt and I will add a TB of prepared mustard and maybe some celery seed. I think it will be great with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Would definitely make it again. I used boned center cut pork chops, but I cut the bones out before placing them into the crock pot. They were much thinner than the typical bonless pork chop, so I did not brown them first because I thought they would come out too dry. Glad I just threw them in the crock pot, because they came out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I didn't think this was good enough to make again. It was pretty bland, even with the addition of white wine. All the flavors blended together and nothing stood out or impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States