Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
If you like dry pork chops and food with no flavor then this is the recipe for you. Okay...it's not really *that* bad, but I wouldn't say it's that great either. I used allspice instead of nutmeg and added some cayenne pepper as well but it didn't help much. I would definitely say seasoning the pork more before the initial browning would help a lot. In the end, it is a very easy slow cooker recipe but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was exceptionally delicious! I tend to prefer white sweet potatoes and never can find a good way to serve the orange ones -- this really made them shine. I used homemade kraut, local apples and onions, heritage pork from a nearby farmer and orange sweets from the Farmers' Market. Totally local, totally simple, totally superb. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bashert
Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Hmm. I really wanted to like this recipe, we love all the ingredients but it was bland, just too bland, and in 6 hrs the pots were not cooked and neither were the onions. I had to finish them on the stove. I DO, however, plan to make this again because my DH and son loved it, go figure! I plan to change it a lot. I plan to add chopped bacon to the pot, prob 3 slices, to saute the onions before putting them in and to use apple cider to deglaze the pan (I did that this time too). Also, much more salt and I will add a TB of prepared mustard and maybe some celery seed. I think it will be great with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Would definitely make it again. I used boned center cut pork chops, but I cut the bones out before placing them into the crock pot. They were much thinner than the typical bonless pork chop, so I did not brown them first because I thought they would come out too dry. Glad I just threw them in the crock pot, because they came out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I didn't think this was good enough to make again. It was pretty bland, even with the addition of white wine. All the flavors blended together and nothing stood out or impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
A real crowd pleaser! Just killer! I nuked the potatoes 4 minutes first, then baked in a foiled baking pan for an hour instead of the cooker. The sauerkraut was mellowed by the covered baking, and the chops were perfect. The potatoes disappeared into a lovely sweet-sour flavor. (We didn't peel the thin skins, and they were unnoticeable.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
What a fabulous recipe! Was wondering how the sauerkraut would be with the apples, but it was great. The sweetness of the apples minimized the tartness of the sauerkraut. Even my husband who SAYS he isn't picky (but he is) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cicero, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was so good with the sweet potatoes. I am always trying to get my boyfriend to eat more of them and this was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I loved this dish! Sadly my 7 yr old did not. I think the sauerkraut is what turned him off; but, I thought it made for a wonderful, hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I rate this recipe a 4 star (only because our preferance would be to use white potatoes instead and save the sweet potaoes for a ham dish) ... followed the recipe taking the advice of a few previous reviewers adding 1/2c white wine at the end of the preparation over the top of the kraut and cookig on HI for 4hrs. very YUM! very tender chops and very flavorful!!!! Will make this again! esp. on a cool or snow FALL or WINTER day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States