Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a solid base recipe, meaning that you should use it as a jumping off point. We made this tonight and it was delicious, but we made a few changes after reading some of the reviews. We too browned the pork chops (sprinkled with salt, pepper, and a spash of balsamic vinegar). I put the browned chops, sweet potatoes, apples, and onions in a Dutch oven and then we poured 3/4 cup of apple cider over everything to help keep everything moist. Finally, I whisked some brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, and maple syrup (about 2-3 Tbs each) and poured that over everything to finish it off. I put the lid on, baked for 1 hour, and it was great. Next time we'll add less apple cider and we might decrease our cooking time, as the chops were a bit tough (they were boneless so they need less time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great dish! Use less than half of the pepper and make sure to cut the sweet potatoes very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Love this recipe. I followed previous posters advice and precook potatoes. Then I brown chops in my cast iron skillet with the onions. When they're done browning I put potatoes and apples on top and then put the whole thing in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We love this combination but find it is much better to brown the chops in a little oil on each side- otherwise they tend to taste stewed and much jucier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TyAllan
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I have made this twice now - once for myself and the second time for my family both times it turned out great. I did slice the apples and sweet potatoes thicker the second time and they were not as mushy. I think with a little flour the broth would make a nice gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Best tasting recipe. You can even cook them minus the sweet potatoes just as delicious as with the sweet potatoes. Five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I took the advice of another reviewer and dumped all of these ingredients in the crockpot. I cooked it on low for 6 1/2 hours. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Simple to make and delicious. I use a casserole dish and follow another reviewers advice and layer sweet potatoes, then onion, apple, pork, onion, and apple. Also I use honey instead of brown sugar. Just plain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
fantastically yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very good recipe. I did as others suggested and microwaved the sweet potato first and also mixed together some maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, mustard and the brown sugar and coated the potatoes and apples in it. I also kept the apples a little larger. Then I baked it at 345 degrees for 45 minutes. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States