Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love recipes like this... Where the delicious to difficulty ratio is really high. Its really simple and has interesting flavor. A great fall meal for us. I cooked in a glass casserole and I added balsalmic to the butter sauce. Also I assembled the night before, and it was no worse for the wear. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This dish was awesome! I modified it by using two big chunks of pork roast which I seasoned with S&P and garlic powder. I browned them in the skillet with two Tbsp. oil. Then I put them in a 9x13 pan and surrounded by thick slices of yams and onions. I used the juice from one can of chunk pineapple mixed with 1/4c. brown sugar and a 1/8tsp cinnamon to pour over the top. Cover tightly and bake for about an hour. then I added the chunk pineapple and the apples and baked for additional 20 mins. This dish was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So Easy And Fast Big Hit With My Husband And Myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
ditch the pepper completely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was a very good fall dinner. The only problem I had was that my pork chops weren't as tender as I would have liked them but it might have been the cut. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I loved it! Because onion is an issue with one of the people I was cooking for, I left it out. I also threw in a little orange juice and some cinnamon. It definitely does help to precook the sweet potatoes a little. I did microwave them for 3 minutes first (which makes them hot to peel, by the way!) but even longer would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a solid base recipe, meaning that you should use it as a jumping off point. We made this tonight and it was delicious, but we made a few changes after reading some of the reviews. We too browned the pork chops (sprinkled with salt, pepper, and a spash of balsamic vinegar). I put the browned chops, sweet potatoes, apples, and onions in a Dutch oven and then we poured 3/4 cup of apple cider over everything to help keep everything moist. Finally, I whisked some brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, and maple syrup (about 2-3 Tbs each) and poured that over everything to finish it off. I put the lid on, baked for 1 hour, and it was great. Next time we'll add less apple cider and we might decrease our cooking time, as the chops were a bit tough (they were boneless so they need less time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great dish! Use less than half of the pepper and make sure to cut the sweet potatoes very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Love this recipe. I followed previous posters advice and precook potatoes. Then I brown chops in my cast iron skillet with the onions. When they're done browning I put potatoes and apples on top and then put the whole thing in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We love this combination but find it is much better to brown the chops in a little oil on each side- otherwise they tend to taste stewed and much jucier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States