Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
With a few modifications recommended by others, this is easy and quite good. I quickly browned the chops after dusting with salt and pepper. Use thick chops. Add some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also add some garlic and extra brown sugar. I have found that by cooking for about 1 hr. 20 minutes everything is cooked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I cut the onion way down & browned the chops before baking. The flavor was *okay* in my opinion. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
very simple but delicious - not time consuming but tastes like you've slaved over a hot stove all day!! great weeknight dinner after sports when you need filling right up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very delicious. The sweet potatoes were wonderful. Be sure to cut the apples thick, or they turn into applesauce when you scoop them out. I browned the pork loin chops, and will add more spice to them next time. I like some of the suggestions of garlic. The onions came out perfectly golden - carmelized really. I might make this as a side dish without the pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was a very tasty dish and easy to prepare! I used a cast iron skillet (in the oven) to cook with sliced the sweet potatoes no more than 1/4 inch thick. I also reduced the pepper to 1 tsp instead of two and lightly sprayed the top (before baking) with a little butter. Excellent recipe & will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Comfort food at its best! My husband and I both loved the wonderful medley of flavors. I quickly browned the pork chops in my oven-proof skillet and then layered the other ingredients on top. Like others, I reduced the pepper (a generous few twists of the pepper mill). I also sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon over the top. I'm glad I took the suggestion of thinly slicing the sweet potatoes. They were perfect. The onions weren't as soft as I'd like them. Next time I'll add them to the pan when I brown the chops. All in all, the sweetness and flavor blends were just right. And I was thrilled with how fast the dish went together. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This was a very good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
To me it wasn't a 5-star recipe, but it was very good indeed. I was surprised that my children were eager try pork chops this way, but they were willing. I used tart apples, and after sprinkling the brown sugar, I followed others' suggestions for adding cinnamon and nutmeg... and I even sprinkled a small amount of allspice. The end result was such a soothing winter-warming meal that didn't leave you feeling weighted down afterwards. The sweet potatoes came out resembling the taste of sweetened or glazed carrots. The chops I used were very thick and created excess juices, but that was ok. I made yellow saffron rice as a side and it went perfect with the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Great flavor! My husband and daughter LOVED this recipe. This will go into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
After reading some of the reviews I almost didn't try this dish--I can't stand bland food! So, I made some changes/additions upon the advice of previous reviewers. First, I seasoned the pork chops with onion salt and garlic power, dipped them in flour and pan fried them. When I added the onions, apples and potatoes I did them in two layers; each layer I sprinkled liberally with brown sugar, cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. I had some leftover chopped pecans so I threw those on top, which added a nice texture. It turned out very well--next time I would cook it less than an hour since I sliced everything very thin and it got slightly mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States