Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I modified this recipe quite a bit for my daycare kids, but they lOVED it! I omitted the onions first. Then I cooked the whole thing on the stove in a fry pan with a tiny bit of oil. I cut the potatos paper thin, the apples paper thin and put them in with the pork chops in the fry pan. I then covered it. I let it simmer awhile, then I sprinkled pumpkin pie spice over it all and added about 1/4 cup white sugar (out of brown LOL). When the pork was done, I took it out and cut it into chunks (kept it warm on a covered plate) and added about 1 cup of chicken broth to the potato apple mixture along with some flour to make a gravy. The kids LOVED it! A great idea! I think it would also all be good over brown rice :) It's MUCH faster on the stove, the whole thing was done in less than 1/2 hour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Quite delicious! I found myself looking at clean plates from every family member - even the kids! That said, it has 5-star potential. I increased the amount of sugar and added pumpkin pie-type spices as recommended by another reviewer; it definitely made the dish better than originally written. Also, despite cutting very fat chops and very thin sweet potatoes and onions, I still had to remove the pork from the pan about ten minutes before the rest of the dish was ready. Next time I will precook the onions and sweet potatoes a bit while browning the pork. A very successful dinner, one that my family has already asked me to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
The recipe is one that is good on a winter's night, but it took a while to make and bake in the oven, so make sure you have plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Sorry, but I thought the chops were too dry. I liked the flavor of the onion, apple, potato mix but the meat just wasn't that good. I might try it again with pork tenderloin, but not pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
With a few modifications recommended by others, this is easy and quite good. I quickly browned the chops after dusting with salt and pepper. Use thick chops. Add some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also add some garlic and extra brown sugar. I have found that by cooking for about 1 hr. 20 minutes everything is cooked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I cut the onion way down & browned the chops before baking. The flavor was *okay* in my opinion. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
very simple but delicious - not time consuming but tastes like you've slaved over a hot stove all day!! great weeknight dinner after sports when you need filling right up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very delicious. The sweet potatoes were wonderful. Be sure to cut the apples thick, or they turn into applesauce when you scoop them out. I browned the pork loin chops, and will add more spice to them next time. I like some of the suggestions of garlic. The onions came out perfectly golden - carmelized really. I might make this as a side dish without the pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was a very tasty dish and easy to prepare! I used a cast iron skillet (in the oven) to cook with sliced the sweet potatoes no more than 1/4 inch thick. I also reduced the pepper to 1 tsp instead of two and lightly sprayed the top (before baking) with a little butter. Excellent recipe & will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Comfort food at its best! My husband and I both loved the wonderful medley of flavors. I quickly browned the pork chops in my oven-proof skillet and then layered the other ingredients on top. Like others, I reduced the pepper (a generous few twists of the pepper mill). I also sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon over the top. I'm glad I took the suggestion of thinly slicing the sweet potatoes. They were perfect. The onions weren't as soft as I'd like them. Next time I'll add them to the pan when I brown the chops. All in all, the sweetness and flavor blends were just right. And I was thrilled with how fast the dish went together. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States