Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Like many of the others I made the recipe adding additional brown sugar as well as cinnamon and nutmeg and far less fresh ground pepper. I also browned the chops for additional flavor. My pork chops were quite thick so weren't done with the apples and sweet potatoes so I removed the vegetables and continued to cook the pork chops alone. The next time I make it I will use the regular cut pork chops and sectioned, rather than sliced apples. I will also quickly carmelize the onion slices. All in all with some variation it's a wonderful recipe and definitely worth the work to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! All the blended flavors tasted so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikehattan
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was a great success. I did however sear the chops before baking. The meat just fell off the bone and the combination of apples, onions and sweet potatoes was awsome. I topped it with some more butter and brown sugar and put it under the broiler for a few minutes before serving. Everybody loved it. Michael
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikehattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Excelent. Realy made hit at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
We Loved this. I browned the chops and onions frist. Then I whisked balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, brown sugar and mustard then poured it over everything. I also nuked the sweet potaoes for 2 min before I put them in the dish to give them a head start. I cooked it for 30 min. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
very easy and tastey. i halved the recipe but still gave it 1 hour. kids thought it was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe and other advice on here, and found the pork very juicy and the meal delicious. I browned the meat first and added nutmeg and allspice over the top of the stacked chops just before placing in oven. Using a Mandolin slicer made it really easy to cut the potatoes thin enough (1/8"). Even though I sliced the apples thicker, 1/4" was still too thin because they turned to mush. So keep the apple slices really thick or maybe add them later. My method of browning worked with the recipe's stated baking time of exactly 1 hour. The chops were 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I modified this recipe quite a bit for my daycare kids, but they lOVED it! I omitted the onions first. Then I cooked the whole thing on the stove in a fry pan with a tiny bit of oil. I cut the potatos paper thin, the apples paper thin and put them in with the pork chops in the fry pan. I then covered it. I let it simmer awhile, then I sprinkled pumpkin pie spice over it all and added about 1/4 cup white sugar (out of brown LOL). When the pork was done, I took it out and cut it into chunks (kept it warm on a covered plate) and added about 1 cup of chicken broth to the potato apple mixture along with some flour to make a gravy. The kids LOVED it! A great idea! I think it would also all be good over brown rice :) It's MUCH faster on the stove, the whole thing was done in less than 1/2 hour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Quite delicious! I found myself looking at clean plates from every family member - even the kids! That said, it has 5-star potential. I increased the amount of sugar and added pumpkin pie-type spices as recommended by another reviewer; it definitely made the dish better than originally written. Also, despite cutting very fat chops and very thin sweet potatoes and onions, I still had to remove the pork from the pan about ten minutes before the rest of the dish was ready. Next time I will precook the onions and sweet potatoes a bit while browning the pork. A very successful dinner, one that my family has already asked me to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
The recipe is one that is good on a winter's night, but it took a while to make and bake in the oven, so make sure you have plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States