Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! We cooked this in our dutch over on our wood burning stove in our cabin! It received rave reviews from our guest! This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was OK. Probably won't make again. The pork chops were dry. It just felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My husband and I loved this. I followed the recipe exactly. Everything was nicely done in one hour. Would give it a 5 but, it does take time with all the peeling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Like many of the others I made the recipe adding additional brown sugar as well as cinnamon and nutmeg and far less fresh ground pepper. I also browned the chops for additional flavor. My pork chops were quite thick so weren't done with the apples and sweet potatoes so I removed the vegetables and continued to cook the pork chops alone. The next time I make it I will use the regular cut pork chops and sectioned, rather than sliced apples. I will also quickly carmelize the onion slices. All in all with some variation it's a wonderful recipe and definitely worth the work to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! All the blended flavors tasted so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikehattan
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was a great success. I did however sear the chops before baking. The meat just fell off the bone and the combination of apples, onions and sweet potatoes was awsome. I topped it with some more butter and brown sugar and put it under the broiler for a few minutes before serving. Everybody loved it. Michael
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikehattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Excelent. Realy made hit at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
We Loved this. I browned the chops and onions frist. Then I whisked balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, brown sugar and mustard then poured it over everything. I also nuked the sweet potaoes for 2 min before I put them in the dish to give them a head start. I cooked it for 30 min. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
very easy and tastey. i halved the recipe but still gave it 1 hour. kids thought it was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe and other advice on here, and found the pork very juicy and the meal delicious. I browned the meat first and added nutmeg and allspice over the top of the stacked chops just before placing in oven. Using a Mandolin slicer made it really easy to cut the potatoes thin enough (1/8"). Even though I sliced the apples thicker, 1/4" was still too thin because they turned to mush. So keep the apple slices really thick or maybe add them later. My method of browning worked with the recipe's stated baking time of exactly 1 hour. The chops were 1" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States