Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Very tasty! My pork chops came out incredibly tender! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a wonderfully different way to make pork chops. My kids even enjoyed this dish. I was appreciated the tip on slicing the sweet potatoes thinner and the apples a little thicker. That worked out very well. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this. Like other suggested I browned my pork chops and cooked the onions until just softened. I also added a little additional brown sugar and sprinkled with cinnamon. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My husband and I loved it. I used pork chops pre-baked in the oven. I cooked cubed sweet potatoes covered in the microwave for 9 minutes with a few tablespoons of water. While they were cooking I browned the onions added the apples cooked until nearly tender. While they were cooking I add Tony Chaucer's creole seasoning to taste(probably about 2 tsp) and about six turns of the pepper grinder. Once the onions were somewhat tender I added some water and reduce to a simmer. By this time the sweet potatoes were nearly done I mixed them in with the onion apple mixture increase the heat briefly added the brown sugar and little more water. I sprinkled a little more Tony Chaucer's as I stirred after about 4 minutes. During this process I added few tablespoons of a sweet white wine. I removed most of the mixure from the skillet I left the liquid along alot of onions and a small amount of sweet potatoes and apples. I did this to avoid making the mix mushy while the pork chops were heating. My pre-cooked pork chops were cold so I heated them in this mixture. Once warmed I added the rest of the mixture back in the skillet. I reduced the heat to a simmer and covered. They simmered about 6-8 minutes. We really loved it! If you worry about spicyness. There was just enough sweet/spicyness once it was done. My husband is sensitive to spicy food and felt it was just the right balance. Be sure to leave out the the salt if you use the Tony Chaucher's creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! We cooked this in our dutch over on our wood burning stove in our cabin! It received rave reviews from our guest! This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was OK. Probably won't make again. The pork chops were dry. It just felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My husband and I loved this. I followed the recipe exactly. Everything was nicely done in one hour. Would give it a 5 but, it does take time with all the peeling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Like many of the others I made the recipe adding additional brown sugar as well as cinnamon and nutmeg and far less fresh ground pepper. I also browned the chops for additional flavor. My pork chops were quite thick so weren't done with the apples and sweet potatoes so I removed the vegetables and continued to cook the pork chops alone. The next time I make it I will use the regular cut pork chops and sectioned, rather than sliced apples. I will also quickly carmelize the onion slices. All in all with some variation it's a wonderful recipe and definitely worth the work to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! All the blended flavors tasted so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikehattan
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was a great success. I did however sear the chops before baking. The meat just fell off the bone and the combination of apples, onions and sweet potatoes was awsome. I topped it with some more butter and brown sugar and put it under the broiler for a few minutes before serving. Everybody loved it. Michael
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikehattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States