Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I have made this a couple of time now using Jonagold apples each time. The FIRST time I used the method and recommendation from “CookinNurse.” Using the slow cooker, putting the Sweet potatoes on the bottom as they take the longest. Then I put a layer of onions and apples, then the chops, then another layer of onion and apples. Dusting each layer lightly with salt and pepper then sprinkled with the brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg mix. After peeling and coring the apples I cut them into large bites/chunks. I cooked it on high for about 4 1/12 hours and it was wonderful. My husband has asked for these again and said they may be the best chops he has ever had. My teenage sons liked the pork chops and apples; they don’t care for sweet potatoes. The SECOND time I used this recipe I did it in the oven because it was too late in the day to use the slow the cooker, it was still good but not as impressive. I definitely recommend using the slow cooker. It is that much better. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very good but the pork chops were a little dry. Next time I will brine them first. Great combination of flavors and add a salad and you have a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very Good! I cut the amount of onion in half and seared the pork before baking as seen in other reviews. Next time I think I'll try a tenderloin and throw in some dried cherries! This is an easy, all in one great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This receipe was fantastic. I fixed it last night with fried yellow potatoes and it was a big hit. My husband has high bp so I have to go easy on the salt, so added some italian spices and the flavor just popped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
we liked this alot. The only thing I changed was I sauted everything before I put it into the oven adding a little pepper and brown sugar then and the rest when I baked it. It made a lovely sauce at the bottom of the pan. Next time I will either cook for a shorter time or cut the sweet potatoes into larger pieces, they were slightly over cooked. Otherwise VERY VERY TASTY! And looks pretty on a serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Fixed it last night & it was a hit- no leftovers! The only thing I did different was brown the chops in a large skillet, then added all the other ingredients plus a cup of apple juice & let it simmer. Came out very tender and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
.not my taste at all! If you like onions you may like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leatha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I did not like the onions, and won't add them next time. Since I like using a clay cooker, I would not slice the potatoes but chunk them up. I was disappointed with the apples, because they turned into apple mush. I'd also brown the chops before baking, so as to cut down on the time needed to get the chops cooked properly. Yeah, I'll make it again with these additions to see if I can make it turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Not good at all. The onions (I only used one) and the sweet potatoes were not cooked enough. They were thinly sliced and I nuked the potatoes a little before cooking. I baked it for 1 hr plus. My husband hated it. We ate the pork and that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My husband doesn't care for sweet potatoes but he really enjoyed this recipe! I saved time by using canned cut up sweet potatoes, added equal amount of apples cut up. I added the brown sugar and some cinnamon, mixed it together with the apples and potatoes, then put it on top of the boneless pork chops. I also did not use salt on pepper. Very, very easy! Quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States