Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Delicious and unique. Some folks have complained about a strange flavor -- keep in mind that "curry powder" is a general term for a hundred possible combinations of spices. If you get a good-quality curry powder from a gourmet shop, and stay away from nasty grocery-store brand yellow American-style curry powder that's mostly turmeric, you'll find the recipe much more appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Excellent! Very tasty and easy to make. I only used 1 1/2 Tbl. curry powder since I was cooking for picky boys, and they loved it. I also used 1 cup apple juice and 1 cup chicken stock rather than 2 cups apple juice and the bouillon to reduce the salt. Came out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I really just picked this out for my boyfriend because he loves pork chops with applesauce, and I do not like applesauce, but this recipe was very good. It was not sweet like I thought it would be. The curry was very interesting and a great ingredient to balance out the with the applesauce. I enjoyed the amount of sauce because it completely covered the pork chops in the dish as they were baking, although we did throw out a good bit of it after we ate. The pork chops were slightly overdone at 40 mins, so watch your cook times (and my pork chops were thicker than one inch). Will definitely make this again. May use a little more garlic next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great recipe, if bouillion is omitted. Use less apple juice and add a little chicken broth/stock instead. We love curry, but I did have to experiment with a variety of curry brands before I came up with one that I have used for about 40 years. We don't care for cumin, so I purchase one that doesn't have cumin listed as the first ingredient. As others have said, 40 min. at 400 degrees is way too long and high for chops that have already been browned. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for about 30 minutes. Also to keep moist, the pan can be covered while cooking. You do have to enjoy curry to like this recipe. We found the curry amount just fine, but if you've never had curry, I'd reduce it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was absolutely delicious!! I used the crock pot on low for 6-7 hours. I browned the onion and apple first and then added to the crock pot. Edit: I've made this many times and I've found I like it best when I also make the pork chops on top of the stove, adding the apple mixture to it after I've cooked that separately. I love the curry taste too, so I always add more. My family raves over this! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My somewhat picky family is new to curry, so I wasn't sure what their reaction would be. They loved it! I slightly decreased the butter, and that seemed fine. I also found the cooking time to be a tad long, so I'll have to watch that next time. This is a very saucy dish, so be sure to serve it with rice. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I've made this twice now, it has such great flavor! Definitely cut the sauce by half and be careful--curry stains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I only did a few things differently--I like to saute the garlic with the meat. I also sauteed the meat longer and then cooked it in the sauce on top of the stove on low heat rather than baking it. I find this makes the meat more juicy and tender. I also prefer curry *paste* over powder. I feel it has a deeper, more subtle flavor. If your regular grocer doesn't have it, try to find a store that offers Eastern/Asian foods. I LOVE mango chutney and am thinking I'd like to adapt this recipe next time with a mango curry sauce. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Excellent! Make sure you make some rice because the sauce is great on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I read the reviews before making this and chose to make it in the slow cooker. I first browned the chops and placed them in the slow cooker, and then browned the apples/onions and placed them on top. Then I combined the sauce ingredients and poured it over all. These were ok. The pork was tender (the slow cooker will do that though) but I didn't really care for the sauce that much. It was fun to make something new (although hot oil almost hit me in the eye in the process!) but this just wasn't to my liking. Hubby really liked it though. So did my 12-month old. He ate just as much of the pork as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States