Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Delicious and unique. Some folks have complained about a strange flavor -- keep in mind that "curry powder" is a general term for a hundred possible combinations of spices. If you get a good-quality curry powder from a gourmet shop, and stay away from nasty grocery-store brand yellow American-style curry powder that's mostly turmeric, you'll find the recipe much more appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Easy, economical, and delicious. Helped me get over my aversion to meat with sweet sauces. The spices complement the sweetness of the apples and onions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
We loved this meal. The curry flavor was mild, not overpowering and blended very well with the apples. I thought the amount of sauce was perfect as we had enough to spoon over the pork and basmati rice. I've made this meal twice~ once using center cut loin chops and once using tenderloin. Both turned out very tender. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Flower and egg and bread the Porkchops first, then fry them it makes them juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kongens Lyngby, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Carson Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
My husband told me I should get on and give this a good rating. I made this using a bone in pork roast in the slow cooker. I did not however use as much butter as called for, I just did not need it, also I used two tablespoons curry powder. The meat was tender, the sauce was mild and had a nice aroma. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Hmmm...this was interesting. I had 4 small boneless pork chops and a large pork steak so I threw them in together. Neither of them seemed to soften up - pretty tough. I liked the sauce over rice and didn't think it was too much. I only put in 2T of curry but 3 would've been fine. I think I'd try it in the slow cooker if I made it again so the meat would be more tender. Everyone seemed to like it as long as the meat was cut into small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This was great. I used the crock pot also, but I cheated. I didn't brown anything. I just thru all the ingredients into the crock pot and let it cook all day. I didn't have curry so I made my own using southwestern seasoning and instant mulling spice from tastefully simple. It was delicious. It is my 4-year old's favorite and she actually eats 2 helpings. I have also made it with a pork roast and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I read the reviews before making this and chose to make it in the slow cooker. I first browned the chops and placed them in the slow cooker, and then browned the apples/onions and placed them on top. Then I combined the sauce ingredients and poured it over all. These were ok. The pork was tender (the slow cooker will do that though) but I didn't really care for the sauce that much. It was fun to make something new (although hot oil almost hit me in the eye in the process!) but this just wasn't to my liking. Hubby really liked it though. So did my 12-month old. He ate just as much of the pork as I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I'm really surprised that this recipe has received as many positive reviews as it has. I was very disappointed with this dish. I reduced the amount of curry quite a bit, but the curry flavor was still really overpowering, and in my opinion, it didn't blend well with the sweetness of the applesauce. The pork chops also turned out really dry. I definitely won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I really just picked this out for my boyfriend because he loves pork chops with applesauce, and I do not like applesauce, but this recipe was very good. It was not sweet like I thought it would be. The curry was very interesting and a great ingredient to balance out the with the applesauce. I enjoyed the amount of sauce because it completely covered the pork chops in the dish as they were baking, although we did throw out a good bit of it after we ate. The pork chops were slightly overdone at 40 mins, so watch your cook times (and my pork chops were thicker than one inch). Will definitely make this again. May use a little more garlic next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States