Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very tasty! I only made 2 changes to the original recipe - I used a spiced cider and 2.5 T of HOT Madras curry. This made so much sauce that next time I will cook six pork chops instead of four. My family loved the dish and wished there was more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I LOVED this recipe! It was so easy to make and it tasted like I had just ordered a meal from my favorite Indian restaurant. My only recommendation would be to get the thickest pork chops you can because I found they were overwhelmed by the fantastic curry sauce. Also, I only used one cup of the apple juice or it would have been very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I gave this 5 stars because it was so good. But I did not use the curry so I guess it was just Pork Chops with Apple Sauce. I am probably the least picky eater in the world but just can't do curry. As a matter of fact it is on the top of my will not eat list but think it's unfair to the submitter to dis a receipe just because I don't like something. But I loved the combination of the apples, onions, etc. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The fat content in this recipe surprised me. I am wondering how long ago the recipe was first published, as pork chops are usually less fatty today than they were years ago. In fact, less than chichen. What is raising the fat content to 45%? (24.6g) Should this maybe be revised??? This is a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great recipe, if bouillion is omitted. Use less apple juice and add a little chicken broth/stock instead. We love curry, but I did have to experiment with a variety of curry brands before I came up with one that I have used for about 40 years. We don't care for cumin, so I purchase one that doesn't have cumin listed as the first ingredient. As others have said, 40 min. at 400 degrees is way too long and high for chops that have already been browned. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for about 30 minutes. Also to keep moist, the pan can be covered while cooking. You do have to enjoy curry to like this recipe. We found the curry amount just fine, but if you've never had curry, I'd reduce it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I only did a few things differently--I like to saute the garlic with the meat. I also sauteed the meat longer and then cooked it in the sauce on top of the stove on low heat rather than baking it. I find this makes the meat more juicy and tender. I also prefer curry *paste* over powder. I feel it has a deeper, more subtle flavor. If your regular grocer doesn't have it, try to find a store that offers Eastern/Asian foods. I LOVE mango chutney and am thinking I'd like to adapt this recipe next time with a mango curry sauce. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very tasty! My chops were thin and boneless so I cooked at a lower temp (350) for a shorter amount of time (30 minutes). I prefer a thicker sauce, so I didn't add as much liquid as the recipe called for. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was good, but lacked depth of flavor. I used 4 very thin pork chops, browned them for a couple minutes on each side, used 1c apple juice, 1c chicken broth and 2T curry powder. I only baked it all for 15 mins at 350...any longer and the chops would've been hard as rocks. The apples were amazing, but it still felt like it was missing something and I don't think the extra 1T of curry powder was it. If I make it again, I'll use 1/2c apple juice, 1/2c chicken broth...and I'd have to put some more seasonings in there, just not sure exactly what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I think the temperature of the oven is supposed to be preheated to 350 degrees. 400 is way to high for those pork chops...i did it at the correct temp. of 350 and it all turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
this was a good recipe, though a bit sauce heavy. My pork chops were literally drowning in it. I would try it again, but with some modifications to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States