Pork Chops to Live For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I changed some things too. I have a 7 qt. slow cooker, and I wanted to make 5 pork chops. I didn't use any eggs or milk. I simply mixed flour, garlic powder, salt and peper together and just floured the porkchops with that mixture, no eggs. Then I browned them in the shortening. While they were browning, I dumped 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of beef broth, 1 envelope of onion soup mix, and two 4 oz. cans of mushrooms in the slow cooker, and mixed it all up. After the porkchops were done browning (about 4 min. on each side), I added them to the slow cooker and covered them with the soup mixture, and let them cook for 5 hours on high. They were so tender and the taste was out of this world, the aroma filled the house. There were no extra spices needed. I served them with mashed potatos and corn. My kids loved them! I will definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
619 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
We LOVE this dish, I have made it many times. Before I started I read over all the reviews and this is what I can up with after all the suggestions. Omit the egg and flour process, just lightly brown pork chops in pan (I use pork tenderlion, sliced thin) Then slice 1 onion, 1red bell pepper and 1 pkg mushrooms, chop 4 cloves garlic and saute all of it in pan with little olive oil. Season with salt, pepper, season all, and little sage. Use 1 can cream mushroom and 1 can cream chicken, with the 2 cups milk. Serve over rice. Turns out perfect and my family loves the gravy over the rice. In fact I am making this tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
477 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe! I have made this quite a few times and always make it the way one of the other reviewers suggested: "I didn't use any eggs or milk. I simply mixed flour, garlic powder, salt and peper together and just floured the porkchops with that mixture, no eggs. Then I browned them in the shortening. While they were browning, I dumped 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of beef broth, 1 envelope of onion soup mix, and two 4 oz. cans of mushrooms in the slow cooker, and mixed it all up. After the porkchops were done browning (about 4 min. on each side), I added them to the slow cooker and covered them with the soup mixture, and let them cook for 5 hours on high." I also made mine with potatoes. Just scrub, cube, and toss them into your crockpot along with everything else. The potatoes turn out perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulliver, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Good as is. I can't get over the way you all just change the recipe completely and then rate it!!!! Why don't you just post your own recipe? I love the recipes on this site but that is one thing that bothers me! I call it "recipe bashing!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
OK: Here's my take on this recipe. Salt & pepper the chops before dredging them in flour. No egg necessary. After browning, put in slow cooker. To drippings in pan, saute 12 oz. sliced, fresh mushrooms. Then add 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1-1/2 cans of milk, then 1 packet of onion soup mix. Mix ingredients and bring to boil, then add to slow cooker. I used six thick, boneless chops and had more than enough gravy. Fork tender, no need for a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This tasted really good! The only thing I added was a packet of onion soup mix, but I would change a couple of things based on texture and visual appearance. I found that the egg and flour coating gave the chops kind of a slimy "skin" - next time I'll just season the chops and brown them without the dredging step. Also, instead of slicing I would chop the onion.....the slices in the gravy looked a little too worm like for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was pretty good and very easy. I made some changes to make it a healthier meal: I used thick, boneless pork chops, skipped the whole dredging/frying part, I used the 98% fat free soup, 2 cans of evaporated skim milk and added other seasonings. The meat was so tender! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Making it right now. Sounds delicious. Maybe all the other folks that add all kinds of different ingredients should just submit their own recipe. I tend to try others as written. If I want to change the recipe I would have the courtesy of just offering my own, not completely changing the individuals recipe and telling everyone it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
With the appropriate "tweeking" this is definitely a "5". I shop "on sale", and found sirloin and rib chops, bone in, for $.89 a lb. I used 11 of them (I have 6 stepdaughters, 2 sets of twins!) Cut off excess fat, sprinkled with seasoned salt and pepper, dredged in 1/2 flour & 1/2 italian bread crumbs. Browned on MedHi in butter flavored shortening. Layered in lg. crock pot with slivers of onion in between. (1/2 lg white onion) 3 cans cream of mushroom soup, 2 c. milk, 1 c. cooking sherry, packet of pork gravy,8 oz. canned mushroom in pan with dripping until blended. Poured over chops, cooked on low 5 hours,removed chops and took off bone. Return meat to pot for another hour on high. Served over rice. EXCELLENT! Loved the previous reviews,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I did modify slightly..I added a clove or two of garlic, used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of golden mushroom soup. I used evaporated milk instead of regular and added in some broth for some extra flavor. I didn't have an onion(go figure) so I remembered a reviewer who added in a packet of onion soup mix..so that's what I did. I needed this to be a meal so I did add in baby red potatoes cut in half..and after 9 hours everything was PERFECT texture and taste. Great share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States