Pork Chops to Live For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
OMG! This is it! If you are looking for a hearty meal to feed a small army on a budget........ this is it! This recipe is a new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrabelle, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My family really enjoyed these pork chops. I left out the egg, but otherwise followed the recipe. It had plenty of gravy to serve over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe as written I'm sure it very good but I did make the changes suggested by the other reviewers. I omitted the egg and just dredged the chops in flour. I used 2 cans cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup, 1 can beef broth, 1 cup milk and a packet of onion soup mix. I omitted the onions but next time I will use them. I would have liked the gravy to be a bit thicker, so next time I'll whisk some Wondra flour into the gravy before I pour it over the chops so it thickens as it cooks. Also, you MUST season every part of this recipe...season the chops, the flour and the gravy. I seasoned everything with salt, pepper and Adobo. I am only giving this 4 stars because I had to make the changes. My whole family really enjoyed these and I will be making them often. Served with mashed potatoes. Oh, and I cooked them in the oven...covered for 1-1.25 hours on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My Mum made this when I was a kid. She used a skillet with a cover. I always add fresh mushroom to add to what is in the soup and use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. Comfort food served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I think it is important to note that ONE pork chop is listed at 400 calories. This is without any rice or noodles. Adding all that onion soup mix, while yummy, is going to kick up the sodium dose significantly. You're already getting 1182mg and almost 25g of FAT in ONE pork chop. Ewww. No, Thanks. Sounds like a once a year treat. Don't get me wrong. It looks deee-lish. I just want to live a little longer than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Warhol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Holy Cow, or should I say Holy Pork Chop!! I am not a pork chop fan, though my husband and daughter are, and I LOVED this!! Like others, I made a few changes: I didn't use any eggs or milk. I simply mixed flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper together and just floured the porkchops with that mixture, no eggs. Then I browned them in the shortening. While they were browning, I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of beef broth, and 2 envelopes of onion/mushroom soup mix. I set the crock pot on 6 hours, and left it to cook. The meat was so tender, it fell apart. I served it over egg noodles and it was a HIT!! My husband and I split the leftovers for lunch at work. I think next time, I'm going to add fresh mushrooms. And, yes, I can see this being made again and again at our house!! Fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbluegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I did this recipe but with alfrado, cream of mushroom soup, and I pan fried the pork chops with the bacon before I put it all in the crock pot. The pork chops were so tender they fell apart trying to get them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I used Jennifer's original recipe and Diane73162's version. I've ended up with a modified version using 1 can of cream of celery soup, one can of cream of mushroom soup, a 14 oz. can of beef broth and a package of onion soup mix. It works well with or without the milk. Substituting onion soup mix for the onion gives the final product a lot more depth and flavor. Without the milk, the gravy ends up much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Mom made this for my sister and I when we were growing up, now I make it for my family. I don't fry mine in shortening, I do a mixture of butter and EVOO. I do add some seasonings to my dredge (fresh ground pepper, onion/garlic powder, sometimes sage) and sometimes I'll add mushrooms or a little worchestershire to the "gravy". I serve this with mashed potatoes or rice to soak up all that yummy gravy. This is true comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States