Pork Chops Over Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Made this last night and we really enjoyed it! After reading other's reviews, I "sprinkled" the cayenne pepper on top of the rice mixture and it turned out plenty hot enough for us. I added a can of mushrooms, a handful of chopped celery, and a couple of strips of red pepper chopped. My husband loved the rice with all the seasonings and veggies. I used the above recipe amounts for three pork chops, but cooked six chops and it made enough for the two of us with leftovers to look forward to. I used two cans of chicken broth and minute rice. I cooked everything in a large 12-inch frying pan which I covered for about 25 minutes to simmer, then uncovered for about ten more minutes to reduce the liquid. Yum! It reminds me of a childhood friend's mother's dish of "pork chops and rice" that I loved and that I have been looking for to reproduce. Will definitely make this again now that I've got the process above. Thanks for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This was pretty good. I cut the cayenne pepper in half and it was just enough for us. Didn't want it to spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I have to agree with others on the Cayenne Pepper. I used a small amount and it was way too hot. My husband who loves spicy food thought so also. Loved the idea of skillet pork chops and rice, but if I make it again I will throw a dash of the hot pepper in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe!! The cayenne is a bit strong even at 1/2 tsp so be wary of that. I brown everything, throw into a casserole dish and bake it, covered, at 300 for 2 1/2 hours. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I really loved the flavor of the rice!, and the pork chops stayed moist! I followed the advice of other reviewers and halved the cayenne pepper. Also, I didn't have rosemary, but I didn't miss it. I doubled the rice (used jasmine brown rice), broth, bacon, and pork. It cooked a bit longer, but they may have been due to me covering the pot. The recipe didn't say to cover and simmer, but it seemed that I should. Maybe not. After 20 minutes, there was still lots of liquid. So I uncovered and continued cooking. Eventually it was done. Anne it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piper jones
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great meal!!! I added some colorful bell peppers and did not use cayenne pepper. Live it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Today was not a good day. This recipe went a long way to making it better. While on the never ending hunt for something for dinner,I discovered that we had some leftover pork chops that needed eating. Since I frequently come here for inspiration, I searched "Pork chops" and found this recipe. So glad I did! I followed the recipe fairly closely (a rarity for me), just making the odd change to make up for a lack of cayenne (I used Epicure's Cinqo Pepper Blend), white rice (used basmati) and rosemary (Epicure's Holiday Spice to the rescue) in my cupboard. After accidentally over salting my sauteed zucchini (I told you it was a bad day), I dumped that in as I hadn't added salt to the rice yet and it was pretty much perfect. I laid the pork chops on top and covered it for the last few minutes to heat them up. The chops were still moist and juicy and my husband, who rarely comments on dinner, said it was really good. That's enthusiastic praise coming from him! Thanks for an awesome recipe. Will definitely add it to my go to list of what to make for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was ok. My family was not impressed with this dish. Way too much cayenne pepper for the kiddo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deMack
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. We all eat seconds. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A little too greasy with he amount of fat from bacon. Should have taken more out of pan, but the flavor was greatZ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled bone-in pork chops with a smoky marinade.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States