Pork Chops Over Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious! This dish was really easy and had lots of flavor. I did reduce the cayenne pepper a little bit; I think it would have been a bit too much if I wouldn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Too much cayanne pepper. Scale it back to about 1/2 tspn. Added sliced mushrooms and a pinch of saffron to brown rice. After that it was amazing . Calls for 2 cups chicken broth. I used 1.75 cups, the rest white wine ! . Delicious and easy one pan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family loved it! I left out the cayenne pepper & had to cover the rice, add more broth & simmer twice as long to cook the rice all the way but was well worth it! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Note to self: Check other reviews before cooking. Need to cut back on the cayenne pepper. Other than that it is good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Loved it. Used minute rice, though. Just cooked it separately and then added last to the grease, onion, and garlic. Plated it first then put pork chops on top. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akseverson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Let me start by saying that the rice was very, very flavorful. It's an easy to follow recipe but I did do a couple of things differently. First of all, I used 8 chops but only doubled the recipe ingredients. Which might explain why the chops were a little bland. Well either that or I didn't salt and pepper enough (no clear measurements to go by). After browning the chops, instead of putting them on a paper towel, I put them on a plate and covered with foil. This way I could add the juices that settled at the bottom of the plate to the rice when I put in the chops. I used 1 cup white and 1 cup brown rice and I gave a large onion a rough chop and sliced four large pieces of garlic, instead of dicing and mincing them. I added 1 cup of broth to scrape the pan then added the rest of the broth to the rice. Because I doubled the ingredients, I used 2 tsp of cayenne (even though I read a lot of other reviews saying that even 1 tsp seemed to be too much). By the end of the final 20 minute cooking time, the rice tasted fiery hot and wasn't even close to being done. So, I added 1 more cup of broth (5 altogether) and let the dish cook for another 20 minutes. Some of the pieces of rice were still stiff and the chops were somewhat dry but the extra cup of broth toned down the fire a bit. Because the chops were a bit bland/dry and the rice was stiff after 40 minutes, I can only give this 3 stars. But I would still give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was pretty good! Cut way down on the cayenne pepper as we are not much on super spicy food! Followed the recipe exactly... W/one exception.. I added a lil extra broth towards the end of simmering to allow the rice to fully cook. Overall, a very tasty rice dish.. Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is really good. Very simple and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, but I will cut down the cayenne pepper a bit in the future, as it was a bit too much for us, and we like spicy! Definitely not the healthiest, so it will have to be a special treat, but the rice was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It was great...made it to recipe except I thought it would be too hot for the kiddos so I cut the ceyenne pepper back some. It turned out perfect! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A little too greasy with he amount of fat from bacon. Should have taken more out of pan, but the flavor was greatZ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States