Pork Chops in Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
First of all, cook time including prep time says 11 minutes. That allowed this recipe to get into the 30 minute or less category. Then the last step of instructions says to bake for one hour? Well now you've misrepresented to get into a different category. Second of all, how is this 166 calories per serving when just the pork chop (with zero fat) would be 174 calories? And that's before adding the soup and onion! Another lie caught "red sauce" handed. This recipe takes 1 hour and 15 minutes and the calories per serving is about 252 (if you use pork chops with zero fat.) It doesn't matter if it is a good recipe if you must lie to get people to see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Great tender pork chops. I never use canned soup anymore, as I have found that tomato sauce with no added salt is a much healthier alternative in recipes, and just as tasty. With some added spices this was a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added a little garlic salt, some worcestershire sauce, and basil. They were extremely tender. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was an excellent pork chop recipe. I read some of the other reviews which claimed it was "bland" - so I sprinked the chops with salt/pepper/garlic powder/and cajun spice before browning. I also added about a tablespoon of dijon mustard to the soup mixture, together with some worchestshire sauce. Fall off the fork tender, a bit of a spicy nip, and an all-around hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a very simple and VERY tasty method for making pork chops. However the sauce is far too runny if you add the water as stated in the recipe. Even without the water I usually have to pour the sauce into a saucepan after the chops are done and add in some corn starch to thicken it into a gravy. We love this super easy recipe though - the chops are nice and juicy, the onions are delish, and the gravy somehow doesn't taste like tomato soup anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
An easy recipe my whole family enjoyed. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was a good recipe. I did add Old Bay, garlic powder, and a little bit of seasoning salt to the nmeat while browning. And I cooked the onions a bit while browing the meat. My picky kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunker, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This wasn't bad, but nothing to write home about either. I agree something was missing...maybe the mushroom suggestion would have paid off?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
My family and I loved this recipes. Very flavorful. And the pork was extrememly tender. YOu could use your fork to cut through it. And, it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Delicious! Fast and easy! SO yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States