Pork Chops in Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
First of all, cook time including prep time says 11 minutes. That allowed this recipe to get into the 30 minute or less category. Then the last step of instructions says to bake for one hour? Well now you've misrepresented to get into a different category. Second of all, how is this 166 calories per serving when just the pork chop (with zero fat) would be 174 calories? And that's before adding the soup and onion! Another lie caught "red sauce" handed. This recipe takes 1 hour and 15 minutes and the calories per serving is about 252 (if you use pork chops with zero fat.) It doesn't matter if it is a good recipe if you must lie to get people to see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Great tender pork chops. I never use canned soup anymore, as I have found that tomato sauce with no added salt is a much healthier alternative in recipes, and just as tasty. With some added spices this was a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added a little garlic salt, some worcestershire sauce, and basil. They were extremely tender. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was an excellent pork chop recipe. I read some of the other reviews which claimed it was "bland" - so I sprinked the chops with salt/pepper/garlic powder/and cajun spice before browning. I also added about a tablespoon of dijon mustard to the soup mixture, together with some worchestshire sauce. Fall off the fork tender, a bit of a spicy nip, and an all-around hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a very simple and VERY tasty method for making pork chops. However the sauce is far too runny if you add the water as stated in the recipe. Even without the water I usually have to pour the sauce into a saucepan after the chops are done and add in some corn starch to thicken it into a gravy. We love this super easy recipe though - the chops are nice and juicy, the onions are delish, and the gravy somehow doesn't taste like tomato soup anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
An easy recipe my whole family enjoyed. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was a good recipe. I did add Old Bay, garlic powder, and a little bit of seasoning salt to the nmeat while browning. And I cooked the onions a bit while browing the meat. My picky kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunker, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
We thought these were tender and tasty. Because our chops were boneless but quite thick, we cooked at 375 for almost an hour then turned to 175 for an hour or so longer. Served with mashed potatoes and the gravy was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Will definitely make again! I used boneless pork chops. I sauteed the onions with fresh mushrooms before adding them to the meat. For the sauce, I added dijon mustard and dried basil. Next time I will double the sauce - it was delicious! I will also use another onion and maybe more mushrooms. The chops were ready a little after one hour in the oven. The smell while they were cooking was heavenly. I could NOT wait to take them out and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This wasn't bad, but nothing to write home about either. I agree something was missing...maybe the mushroom suggestion would have paid off?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States