Pork Chops in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I honestly do not understand why this recipe is rating so low!! THE CHOPS were PERFECT!! and super easy too!! I let the chops sit in the sauce for about an hour and a half prior to cooking. This made them super tender!!! I also added in a few 'smashed' cloves of garlic, some pepper, a pinch of cayenne, a dash of dry moustard and a couple dashes of worchestire sauce. Alongside the chops (in the sauce) I also added some largely chopped green and red peppers, and some onions. THEY WERE GREAT and a hit with the family... the beer was the perfect taste... not over powering at all!! LOVED THEM!! I would recommend this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is a simple and good weeknight dish. Made a few changes the 2nd time: I seasoned the chops good with garlic salt and pepper and then browned them. I used only half the beer, adding 8 oz. of water. I topped each chop with a thin slice of onion and then poured the liquid over the chops. I baked covered with foil for 50 minutes, uncovered them and baked 15 min. more. This made them more tender and juicy. I served over rice, but the next time, I'm going to add one cup of uncooked rice to the dish at the beginning. I think this will absorb some of the extra liquid. My family liked the taste of these pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Quick and delicious, lending itself to a wide variety of side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I tried this last night - husband and PICKY 4 yr old son loved it! I did change it a bit after reading the reviews. I only used about a cup of ketchup. I added some worcestershire sauce, chopped onion, mustard (to cut the sweet), and used about 3/4 of a beer. I seared the chops first and gave them some flavor with garlic salt and pepper. Served with Au Gratin potatoes - easy and great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I have used this recipe with a beef roast before, cooked in my beloved Pampered Chef clay cooker (has a lid) and it always is tender and yummy. I was looking to make a meal for a co-op Freezer Swap that would work in the crock pot and was a little cheaper than purchasing 5 roasts. ...and it had never crossed my mind to use pork chops. I placed the raw, un-panseared chops in the crock pot and poured the ingredients over them and mixed. I cooked them for 4 hours on high. Then removed the chops and cut away the bones, cut/shredded my tender pork chops and threw the meat back into the juice so it was flavor-ful and juicy, and then scooped it out with a slotted spoon. I highly recommend cooking this in the crock pot as oppossed to the oven....it concerned me that so many people complained of dryness, but I didn't have this problem at all in my crock. My husband and I both found this to be flavorful and enjoyed it greatly....I used Michelob Beer, I hate the taste of beer, and have yet to drink more than just a sip, and I can say that the taste of beer was not overwhelming at all. I have also used Honey Brown in the past to make both my roast and beer bread and have enjoyed the flavor. I can't wait to hear what my fellow swappers think of this easy meal!! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Made for the Family, very very good, i added minute rice the last 10 minutes , which added a lot of flavor, will definatly cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greater Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Wonderful!!!! Fast and Delicious. I followed the advice of other reviewers. I let the chops sit in the sauce for 1 hour prior to cooking. I added a few dashes of worchishire, cayene pepper, and black pepper to the sauce. I also covered with foil while cooking for 50 min. and removed it, drained the liquid, and added more sauce and cooked uncovered 15 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious, tender chops that whole family enjoyed. I served it with spinach, and rice that I cooked with the chops as others suggested. I made it almost exactly as written but I did brown the chops with a little garlic first. Next time I will add less sugar as it was a little sweet for my taste but that's the only change I'd make. Great easy supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
My family loved this. My pickiest daughter ate three helpings! I pretty much followed the directions given except that I did brown the chops in a little olive oil and garlic salt before I put them in the baking dish. I used Warsteiner dark beer and I didn't have quite enough kethcup so I made up the difference (1/2 cup) with Heinz 57 sauce. I used a cheap grade of chops, about 5 lbs (9 big chops with bone) and had PLENTY of sauce. We poured it over rice and it was just delicious. This is a keeper. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this for a family dinner and everyone loved it! My only addition would be to pre-sear the pork to give it a better appearance than the stark white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States