Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This is a nice recipe - but it just didn't come out the way we hoped. The sauerkraut was very nicely flavored - but this recipe doesn't make for very moist pork chops. If I adjusted it and added much more liquid and converted it to a slow-cooker recipe - then perhaps I'd make it again...but this stovetop version would be much better suited to sliced kelbeisa sausage instead of the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Not the best I've had. I did not like how the Sauerkraut came out, tasted funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I loved this recipie. I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder, onion powder,caraway, pepper and a generous amount of paprika. For the suakraut. I used bottled sauekraut, but first drained and rinsed it well and then put in a pot with just enough water to cover. I added pieces of fried bacon (about 4 slices), caraway and pepper and simmered it for a while, then I thinkened it up with a cornstarch slurry and then topped the pork chops. This is the BEST way to have sauerkraut!!!! I browned the meat first then baked for 40 minutes at 350. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is an incredibly easy recipe to make and VERY tasty. Authentic - perfect for my boyfriend that's of German origin!! We have this one anytime we have the need for some sauerkraut! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
The chops were very tender and tasty however, I would suggest using applesauce instead of the sliced apples, they went to mush. Use quartered apples adding them later in the cooking process. This recipe benefits from the apple flavour and the appearance of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Neff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I absolutely love this dish. It is the best way to cook Pork Chops. My husband absolutely loves it. This one will be a definate keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFFREYNCHERRY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Grandma made pork and sauerkraut every New Year. She'd have loved this recipe. When I served it New Year's Day, my husband said, "You sure don't have to wait a year to make this again." It was great. Note: If you use kraut with little or no juice -- you may want to add a little water or increase the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Delicious! I will definitely make these again. My husband took the leftover chop to work the next day and he said others had "food envy" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
Something my grandmother would have made...tastes great..thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States