Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I did add 1 tsp of celery seed to the mix which really beefed up the flavor. I also cooked in crockpot after browning pork and sauteing onions and seasonings in skillet. Easy and delicious. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I used some of the other suggestions, no juice 1/2 cup applesauce instead. I also browned the chops, removed them to a baking dish and combined the rest in the pan to incorporate. Then baked for an hour @ 350. I also used about 24 ounces of kraut instead of the lesser. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This recipe was absolutely fantastic! Even my 10 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I loved it. I added applesauce as others suggested and it turned out great. The pork was very tender. I served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
We liked this. I seasoned the chops with s&p and then coated with mustard before I browned. Also added some beer to it for extra moisture and flavor. Very juicy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
the apples& sauerkraut what a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I too used apple sauce and brown sugar. Fabulous! And since spices are so expensive, I used the Bavarian style sauerkraut with caraway seeds already in it. It made a difference and cost much less. I baked it with the mixture on top for 40 min @ 350. The next time, I will put it all in my crock-pot. The chops will be fork-tender that way. We loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
almost a dead ringer for Mom's recipe...except, she added a half a bottle of beer,apples from Grandpa's orchard (whatever we had in the fruit cellar),chopped onion, and served it with homemade mashed potatoes..for some reason I remember the pressure cooker being used....(maybe that was on days she was late starting supper..!)anyway....an excellent meal and brought back wonderful dinnertime memories and smells. Like a trip into the past.....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Awesome recipe! I followed the directions with the one exception that I added approximately three tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce and an extra tablespoon or two of apple juice. I did not add brown sugar as some other reviewers have recommended as I think the apple juice adds sweetness. I used one 15 ounce can of sauerkraut and just drained it before throwing it onto the skillet to be sauteed. This has a very Germanic flavor and is such a perfect recipe for pork chops. I recommend using mashed potatoes as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States