Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good. Not too difficult. Changed the order of cooking. Cooked bacon in pan first. Remove to paper towel. Brown chops in bacon fat. Place in a 9x13. Saute onion and garlic a few minutes until soft. Add applesauce, brown sugar, and sauerkraut to pan, bring to boil. Scrape up all the brown bits. Crumble bacon on top of chops and pour rest of ingredients on top, cover with foil, and bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious! Made it exactly as they said and the only change i would make would be to make more saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was easy and delicious! I've picked up Bavarian style sauerkraut by mistake and didn't really like the overly sweet flavor. This recipe had some of the same elements but with a much more subtle flavor because it's homemade. I did take the advice of others and used apple sauce (about 1/2 Cup) instead of apple juice, I just didn't think 2 tablespoons of apple flavor was enough. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was very good. I did it as instructed and it came out tasting very good! It's not something I want to have all the time, but this is a nice meal to make every once and a while. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My hubby (born in Germany) absolutely loved this dish. Followed another reviewer's advice by adding sliced potatoes on top of the chops. Covered with the sauerkraut. Only problem I had was that the cooking time was almost 2 hrs. (the sliced potatoes refused to cook!) Would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Dell O'Leary Bauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
a delicious dish my husband of geman descent has to have on new years day and throughout the year as well. i have made this with pork chops and pork loin, but my favorite is with spareribs. i use applesauce instead of apple juice. i brown the meaty side of cut up ribs in a heavy dutch oven and remove, then saute the onions, then garlc, then add the rest including the sauerkraut juice. i place the ribs back in the dutch oven, cover with the sauerkraut mix, and bake for two hours at 350. the applesauce cuts the tartness of the sauerkraut and mixes so well with the sparerib juices. i serve with mashed potatoes. this is real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great taste. I added extra garlic and caraway seeds. Fantastic New Years Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I used 3/4 cup of applesauce and 2 T brown sugar instead of apple juice (this was suggested in the reviews). ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. And soooo easy. The sweetness takes away the salty flavor of the sauerkraut and it's a perfect accompaniment to pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Hearty, Delicious & Easy. I loved this and I'm not a big fan of sauerkraut. I added some apple slices as others have suggested & also added some sour cream just before serving. This is a great dish and so easy to make in just one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Really smells up the house, made everyone hungry!!! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States