Pork Chops and Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I really like this recipe. It is simple, easy for weeknights and taste great. Instead of using water, I use chicken stock for the liquid. I reduce the amount of liquid a bit because the rice can sometimes be soggy. And depending on what kind of pork chops you use, you might need to reduce the cooking time. Overall, a great weeknight recipe that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I had a limited pantry and no time to shop, so I had to make a few substitutions and experimented a bit with flavors. I salted and peppered the pork, then marinaded overnight in a mix of balsamic and apple cider vinegar with a bit of garlic. I used organic quinoa in place of rice, rinsing it before adding it to the baking dish. I used about 1/2 cup less water, added a few tbsp of apple cider vinegar to the soup, a couple splashes of liquid smoke, a few shakes of garlic powder, about 1/2 tsp of ground cayenne pepper, and I think I even threw in some Chesapeake Bay seasoning (not sure how much or even why!). Baked 25 mins covered, 25 uncovered, and it was still a bit liquidy, but the boyfriend was super hungry and didn't care! We ate the pork with the quinoa piled on top. It was really flavorful and the meat very tender, and I enjoyed the mix of textures. I'll definitely attempt to replicate this, though maybe with a bit more adjustment and experimentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
We really did enjoy. I did add two packs of onion soup instead of one because it was flavorless otherwise. My boys liked the rice the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Very yummy! :D I seasoned the pork chops with a little cayenne, paprika, and chili powder before browning. Added a nice spice to the onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This turned out VERY dry and tasteless!!! Would not recommend this one at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgabel08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The porkchops turned out a little dry. But the rice turned out WONDERFUL. My husband cleaned the dish and wanted more rice! Going to cook again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
4 stars for a soup recipe is pretty good although this one is almost a 3. The rice ( I used Basmati ) had a wonderful flavour but was perhaps just ten minutes overcooked. I'd suggest 1/3 cup less water and 10 minutes less cooking. The chops were delicate and juicy but not all that flavourful so next time I'll brine before searing and ramp up the soup mix with a caramelized onion/beef broth reduction. A little extra salt wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
YUMMY! Does need a touch of salt but BELVEAL was right, very easy and quite tasty. My 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Yummy! Added a can of cream of mushroom as well. Chops were tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Rice tasty but my thick pork chops were so dry even with 45 minutes of baking with lid on and at a lower temperature . Needs a gravy to eat it and definatly less time at baking.Maybe 25 minutes would have sufficed. Sorry won't be saving this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States