Pork Chops and Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I only have a 2 quart crockpot, so I had to scale this down, but for the most part I stuck to the recipe. Here is what I did. -I used 1 pork chop- it was probably around 2" thick, so I halved it and cut it into pieces (and that's all I could fit in the bottom layer. -I could only fit 2.5 layers of potato & onion in. I used 3 'B size' red potatoes, and 1 onion (~2" diameter). Potatoes & onions were sliced about 1/4" thick. -1 used only half the jar of cheese sauce, and thinned it with milk & water -cooked in the crockpot on high for 5 hours, probably could have gone less. Overall this turned out pretty good. The pork chop was tender and falling apart. The sauce wasn't too runny or thick, and everything had good mild cheese flavor. I couldn't taste the onions though. I will make this again, but I might need to add something to it (garlic? tabasco?), as I prefer bold, spicy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I served this on a Sunday when it was too hot to cook. This was a big hit with my family. This should really be pork chops and au gratin potatoes. It will definitely go in my list of reusable recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Great recipe! I just added a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to bring out the flavors (I usually do that with pork dishes anyway). Hubby and kids want me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Easy, tasty, and the pork was perfectly tender. Loved it, and so did my husband who usually hates pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Plummer Eldridge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was good but for all the work, I would just as soon have regular scalloped potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
To give the potatoes a bit more jazz, I used a jar of Tostito's Queso (medium) instead of plain cheddar. It gave the whole dish a kick! The pork was very tender and a nice compliment to the potatoes and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
LOVED this recipe!! No spectacular flavor just saucy & comforting! I did make a couple of changes... added season salt & no flour. And found that 2 cans of Campbell's cheddar cheese soup are better than any "cheese sauce". We loved this & have had it twice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Less cheese would have been better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
my family didn't like this meal. Probably would be better if made with real cheese. Fake cheese sauce was not a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This turned out really good!! I was a little nervous about this recipe, but it tasted much better than I thought it would. It smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I used bone in chops and russett potatoes but followed the recipe otherwise. The pork chops were fork tender and the potatoes were cooked perfectly!! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States