Pork Chops and Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I did make some changes. Paid attention to the reviewers that said it was bland. Added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne to the cheese sauce. Also had boneless chops and I didn't want them to cook as long as the potatoes. I seared them and put them on the top, this kept them from having too much cheese on them. I also seasoned them highly with Natures Seasonings blend, my favorite for pork chops. Everyone really liked the dish, and said make it again. Potatoes cooked about 6 hours on low, and were not mushy at all, chops about 4 1/2 hours. Served with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I first tried this a couple of years ago and fell in love it is definitely a comfort food great for winter which is why I'll be making it for tommorows dinner and my mouth is watering already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This just lacked flavor, def need to add more seasoning. The pork chop was fall off the bone and so tender. I used two super thick chops and they were melt in your mouth tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My husband and I really didn't care for this. Can't really put my finger on what we didn't like about it. We just didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Okay so, I tried this despite most of the reviews either liking it or hating it. However, I did make a few changes, and it turned out well for me. I only used a couple pork chops since I was only cooking for myself and my husband (next time I will use more, as they were falling apart and it would have been nice to have more meat). I laid the pork chops (used pork tenderloins) in the bottom of my crock pot, layered sliced/peeled red potatoes and a sliced yellow onion on top of it. I repeated those layers and I did not use flour, I also only added pepper once I was done layering it. I also added some garlic salt instead of just regular salt to the top. I did not use a jar of cheese sauce because that sounded gross to both myself and my husband. Instead I took some suggestions from other reviewers and used a can of campbell's cheddar soup, and a can of campbell's cheddar broccoli soup. I mixed both of those up with milk, some all seasoning, and pepper and poured it in over the pork chops and layered potatoes/onion slices. I put it on high for 5 hours (which, I believe was far too much as my pork chops were falling apart), next time I will probably just try doing something around high for 4 hours, or low for 5 or 6. Overall, with changes made, I liked it and my husband loved it. It seemed weird at first having cheesy pork, but it was quite good. Served it with some warm rolls and broccoli, will probably make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe was great and exactly what I was looking for:) I've recently started working 2nd shift which means leaving my husband and daughter on their own for dinner! I was searching for something quick and easy I could put in the crock pot for them that also wouldn't cost a lot since our budget has been a little tight around Christmas. They LOVED it! I think I might try cheddar cheese soup, fiesta nacho soup, maybe even queso to change it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was WONDERFUL!! Instead of cheese sauce I used the Cheese Dipping Sauce recipe. I made it and let it cool slightly while I was getting everything else ready. I did add the 2/3 cup milk to the cheese sauce. My extremely picky kids loved it, even the 9 month old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
edible, but not fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This dish is very easy to make and comes out fantastic. My boyfriend is not a veggie eater so I made this and we both loved it. I took a suggestion from a previous review and used cheddar cheese soup, skipped the onions, but besides that followed it exactly. The pork comes out juicy and tender and goes perfectly with the cheese and potatoes. Very hearty and comforting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Didnt like it at all. My fiance loves cheese and will eat anything that involves cheese and he hated this. The cheese became very watery, the onions did not taste right and the whole thing tasted very bland. Followed the recipe to a T. Definitaly will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States