Pork Chop Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I changed this quite a bit according to what I had on hand: instead of one cup of orange juice, I used the juice from a can of mandarin oranges, some white wine, and some water; I also used roasted garlic chicken broth; and I added frozen french-cut green beans and mandarin oranges at the end. I also removed the chops after browning and sauteed the rice and onions together before adding the liquid and then returning the chops to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is good...but I think the next time I make it, I'll use boneless pork chops. The rice was delicious and had a great flavor - I would never have thought of orange juice and chicken stock for cooking liquid, but it was just right. We had this for dinner with broccoli, French bread and a spinach salad - delicious and filling, and most importantly, very very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The was fantastic! My pork chops did dry out a bit, so if I had to make any suggestions, it would be to remove the chops to a plate after browning and about 10 minutes before the rice is finished, put them back in the skillet to cook a little longer and rewarm. The rice tasted absolutely wonderful. I'll be making this one again, for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
After reading the other reviews about this being bland I added 1/8 tsp. crushed rosemary, 1/4 tsp. oregano and 2 tsp. light brown sugar. I found it to be very tasty. I used a pork tenderloin cut into medallions (seasoned with garlic pepper before searing) but found that the amount of rice was too much. Next time I will cut down on the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
After reading all the reviews I thought uhoh I should have read these before so I looked in my pantry and found a Lipton Savory Herb and Garlic soup mix and I mixed that in the Chicken broth along with the orange juice and the rice was wonderful. I bought some expensive chops and I was disppointed they came out dry and tough. Since I made the changes I only used 2 chops afraid to ruin 4 expensive chops. All in all I think the dish was good I would make the rice again but use dark meat chicken or turkey. I also thought about using onion soup mix which I had but went for the Savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Would remove the pork chops after browning, they were a little dry. Added more rice for 7 person family should have added more orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was wonderful and very easy to make... My only change was using beef broth instead of chicken because that's what I had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was great! I used thinner boneless chops because they were on sale which worked out better because they were easier for my kids to eat. I also didn't use the canned soup to make it Gluten Free. I used Better than Bouillon instead. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
very good!! I didn't have rice so I used 3 C of noodles, loved the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
It was pretty bland. I would only make this again with some kind of modification for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States