Pork Chop Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Easy and pretty good. I did use chicken broth instead of water and I mixed the soups and broth and brought to a boil and poured over the rice. I cooked the rice 15 minutes then added the pork chops after stirring the rice. Baked for another 40 minutes and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
After reading some of the other reviews i did alter the recipe a little... i didnt use an entire packet of onion soup mix more like 3/4 of it. I sprinkled the pork chops with onion soup mix and lightly seared them to keep them moist. i also added 1 cup milk, 1 cup water for a bit more creamy texture.( not 2 1/2 cups) I added the pork chops after 30 mins, My rice took a little longer 1h 15 mins... I now have mushroom/ Onion soup with rice and over cooked pork chops. Seems like i should have reduced the liquid even more... once the rice keeps absorbing its going to be super mushy. The flavour seems to be pretty good... not sure if i will attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
After reading some other reviews I tweaked this just a bit. I added garlic to the rice/soup mix. I salted the pork chops on top before cooking. And in another small pot I cooked another 1/2 cup (dry measurement) of rice just in case. Sure enough, I did need the extra rice, but after stirring it in to the finished dish, the consistancy was perfect! Very good, and I'll certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was a favorite, growing up! Even better when you make your own homemade mushroom soup.... Hubby even liked it & he's not a big rice fan. Great for a cool fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Leona Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I liked it, but the family didn't. I should have read the reviews and browned the chops first. Also, had a little too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I only used 2 cups of liquid, and instead of water I used chicken stock. I also changed 1 can of cream of celery in place of one the cans of cream of mushroom. And added chopped celery and diced onions to the rice mixture. I spiced my pork chops with garlic salt, salt, and pepper. And omitted the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
OMG This makes the pork chops so tender...we like spicy food so the only difference I made was substitute a can of Rotel tomatoes for the water...YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I really wanted to like this...it smelled delicious. However, the taste was so-so and it was very soupy and mushy. Maybe just not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Overall this recipe was fast, easy and with a few adjustments very tastey. I used golden mushroom soup instead of cream of mushroom soup, and I used good seasons garlic and herb powder salad dressing instead of the onion soup mix. I mixed the rice, soup, water, a little pepper and 1/2 of the garlic and herb powder together. Then I mixed the other 1/2 of the garlic and herb powder, a little salt and pepper and oregano together and set that aside. I sprayed the baking dish with non-stick spray, poured in the liquid/rice mixture, coated the pork chops with the dry seasoning that I mixed together, then topped it all with french fried onions. I cooked it for about 1 hr 15 min and boy was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this because I could put it in the oven and pretty much let it go. Wonderful surprise! The rice is so good! I think that next time I will brown the pork chops...and as another reviewer said..you have to check it about halfway through and " lift " the rice. All in all... a great weeknight meal with little fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States